The World of XPILAR - B&W PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #081: The Sacred Text

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

The World of XPILAR - B&W PHOTOGRAPHY
AND ART CONTEST WEEK #081:
The Sacred Text


Hello. I hope you had a good week? This is my entry to the contest: The World of XPILAR - B&W PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #081. It is a photo I took at night of an interesting location in the historical city of Chester, in North West England. The details of this place and when I took the photo are described below. 📜✝️

𝕿𝖍𝖊 𝕾𝖆𝖈𝖗𝖊𝖉 𝕿𝖊𝖝𝖙



click on the image to see a bigger version of it

The photo above was taken when my wife and I visited Chester, a Roman city that originated as a fortress in the 1st century A.D. The Roman wall still exists and you can take a walk around some of it, of what remains. A Roman amphitheatre lies near the spot where I took this image.

As we were leaving St John the Baptist Church, which has history that dates back to the 7th Century, it was dark and the sun had set and we noticed there were some medieval ruins at the East end of the Church. What was interesting was there was text written in different languages shone or illuminated on the sides of these ruins. According to what it says online, this art project is called ‘Hryre’ (the word for 'ruin' in Old English) and the text is written in English, Latin and Welsh. It does create an interesting, striking effect, to highlight the various, different layers and aspects of this historical city. Here's the info about this project and site in the following link. Source

The original coloured pic that I took

I hope you like the pic? It is dark and moody and quite a different image, that's why I had to capture the moment and took a pic with my camera, then converted into black and white. Have a good weekend and see you next time. 😁👍

Visit my blog by clicking on the link or photo below:
📷


https://steemit.com/@daverobe

Thanks For Reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55