The World of XPILAR - B&W PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #077: Merlin

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

The World of XPILAR - B&W
PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #077:
Merlin


Hello Steemians! This is my entry for this weeks contest, The World of XPILAR - B&W PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #077. It's a little different to my usual photography entry or tiny planet photography. It's actually artwork that I have created. It's been about 20 years since I last created artwork; sketched, painted or drew something etc. There's a good reason why I decided to do it, but it's not a good one and it's very sad and depressing, which I'll explain below.

It's a picture created from mixed media; pencil, biro, roller tip pen, correction pen to create highlights and then I merged, edited and finalised it digitally using Photoshop Elements. I'll explain the process and show the different stages below. It's been a while since I've done something like this, I didn't do a bad job considering, I just need more practice. Maybe I'll try to create more artwork in the future using pen, pencil, mixed media and charcoal, like I used to do when I was younger at art college and university. It is of our pet dog, my mum's dog that she's had since a puppy. 🐶 😔

Merlin



click on the image to see a bigger version of it

I've been drawing, sketching, creating artwork and have enjoyed art from a young age. Art was one of my favourite subjects at school. I then went on to study art in sixth form, then art college for two years where I learnt different techniques, how to use different materials and media, then I went to university for three years and studied Design in Illustration. During this time, I was very creative and created lots of artwork using different media. After completing my degree, I completed a course in multimedia design because I wanted to learn about design on computer.

So, the reason why I decided to take up this project of creating artwork for my mum's dog, who she's had for 12 years and he is very dear to her and she loves him very much,...is because he doesn't have long to live. He has cancer of the liver and a malignant tumour/growth which has spread to his lymph nodes. He's very ill. It is so sad.😔😔😔


Starting to sketch


Adding some detail


Adding more detail. It's been a while since I've done this ☺️


I added highlights using corrective pen
---
After drawing, I then decided to use the different versions of the photos above to combine and merge these layers into one image as you can see in the left picture below. I then edited this image using the photo I had as reference and added extra marks, tones and lines etc and adjusted the contrast, brightness, sharpness and other aspects etc on the computer/digitally, until I was happy (the right image below).


Merging the images as different layers




Final editing and adjusting the contrast etc


---
I hope you like my post and artwork. Thanks to @axeman, @xpilar and all the moderators and members in the @worldofxpilar community. See you soon.👍

View my blog, posts, photos and videos here, in the link or image below:
📷


https://steemit.com/@daverobe

Thanks For Reading.

Sort:  

That is wonderful post and the drawing is really lovely. Thank you for the process of your work :)

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page or using tag #art-venture have priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83