The World of XPILAR - B&W PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #076: Angel on High

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

The World of XPILAR - B&W PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #076: Angel on High


Hello Steemians! 😊 This is my post for my submission for this weeks Black & White contest: The World of XPILAR - B&W PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #076. Thanks to @axeman, @xpilar and all the members & moderators in this community. This image was taken in the impressive, beautiful St John the Baptist Church, Chester, a 12th Century Normal structure which was raised to the status of Cathedral in the 11th Century and has history that dates back to the 7th Century. 👍🏻 🙏🏻

𝓐𝓷𝓰𝓮𝓵 𝓸𝓷 𝓗𝓲𝓰𝓱



click on the image to see a bigger version of it

This image was taken in St John the Baptist Church, Chester. It is of an angel that I seen above the organ and so I thought I would capture an interesting, artistic photo of it. On the original site of the church, there may have been an early Romano-Christian shrine or religious building. However, this church was founded in AD 689 by AEthelred, King of Mercia and was a Saxon Minster church. There are many old features and parts, including the Chapter House in the south-east, which dates from the 1300's. The interior of the church is mainly Norman in style and is one of the best examples in Britain of the transition from the Romanesque to Gothic styles of architecture.Source

Here are some more pics I took inside the church during our visit:


The organ was originally from Westminster Abbey, where it was used for the coronation of
Queen Victoria in 1838. It was later rebuilt when it was moved to St John's.



Detail and carving in the church.


Medieval painting on a pillar in the church.

Do you like my post and image/s? Be sure to check out my other posts and photography on my page! See you soon. I'll look at the other entries/submissions for the contests in this community. 👍

Visit my blog and see the rest of my posts, videos and photos here:
📷


https://steemit.com/@daverobe

Thanks For Reading.

Sort:  

Hermosas fotografías, es un espacio agradable con adornos llamativos. Bello trabajo..

Impressive the angel uff the shot was great 🤗👏

Impresionante el ángel uff le quedó estupenda la toma 🤗👏

 3 years ago 

Obrigado! 🤗

 3 years ago 

Muy lindo, me gustó mucho

 3 years ago 

Obrigado. 👍

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38