The shoot that almost didnt happen

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

I'm normally very preppared for photoshoots, making sure my camera batteries are charged, lights are ready, SD cards with free space and my bag is packed with all I need. I say "normally" because on this shoot I made a silly mistake while getting ready that almost meant the shoot didnt happen.

image.png

I had prepared most of my normal kit but for some reason I managed to forgot to pack my flash trigger. This is a small device which sites on top of the flash and fires the flash at the exact moment I press the trigger. It may seem like a small thing but without it, I've no way to fire my flashes and have no way to achieve the look I'm normally hired to shoot.

image.png

We had driven around hour out of the city to the shoot location with this lovely husband and wife musician duo to shoot some new promo images for their new album. We arrived at the shoot location and I began setting up my lights. It was only when I had the majority of it already setup I was missing the one piece that made the whole setup work together.

image.png

Thankfully the band were very understanding and also not in a huge rush for time. So we packed all the gear up and drove to my house to collect the flash trigger. At this stage between the drive to the location, setting up, taking the gear back down and driving back we were almost 3 hours into the shoot and didnt have a single picture taken yet.

image.png

By the time we got to my house I decided it wasnt worth wasting time to drive back out to the location again but luckily I have a nice big garden area we were able to use instead. When the band finally seen the shots they were so happy with the look and mood of the nighttime garden setup. They said there was no way the original location would have had the same look so it all worked out for the best. It definitely thought me a lesson, no matter how well prepared I am, double and triple check everything just to be sure.

image.png

Sort:  

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 3 years ago 

Aww thank you @art-venture. Thats very much appreciated. Glad you like the shots too as this was very nearly a disaster of a shoot 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84