The first time I thought "I can do this"

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

I've told a lot of stories about how certain shoots happened, where they happened, how they were arranged or what gear they were shot with. However I dont always mention what the shoot meant to me.

image.png

Here's one with the stunning Abeer Younis that actually has quite a bit of meaning to me. I had done a few shoots before this one, mostly just learning the functions on my camera and how to trigger flashes etc, basically technical learning. At the time a lot of my shoots were coming out quite nicely but it was mostly a surprise to me. I had studied lots about how to do these things, but I didn't know how they were going to look, I was just trusting that the tutorials I had watched and books I had read were giving good advise.

As I shot more the results still continued to improve but every shoot was still a surprise, often a pleasant one, but there was always a feeling of uncertainty that I hadnt planned how the shots would look, I was essential following a bunch of memorized technical steps to create what I hoped would be a good image.

Its like writing a piece of music without listening to it where you know you're writing all notes in the correct key and in a time signature that makes sense. The chances are if you follow those rules you'll write something that sounds musical, you just didnt have a plan for what that music would be.

So fast forward to this shoot. I decided I wanted to do things differently and make an exact plan for the type of images I wanted. I spent time creating mood boards and paying attention to what made those images good so I could create something with intent. This is my favourite image from that shoot. Its honestly the first photoshoot I set out to achieve a particular look and the actually achieved it. This is the first time I looked at the results and thought to myself "I may actually be able to do this".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47