Ruining a 20 Grand Wedding Dress

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

This was definitely an unusual shoot, even for me 😅 Even though I dont normally shoot weddings, or wedding themed shoots (unless its for friends and family) Jennifer contacted me with a very unusual story that really caught my attention.

So basically she had got married but after a very short period of time things didnt work out so they had separated, even by the time she got in contact with me. The wedding had just been a few months previous to the shoot. In any case, she still had her wedding dress which was hand made by a well known Irish designer and had cost €20,000. I couldnt even get my head around that amount for a wedding dress, but I guess there are people willing to pay it.

Jennifer had seen a lot of these "trash the dress" shoots and wanted to try something different. She was happy to ruin the dress but wanted to try to create some art in the process.

01.jpg

So we traveled to an old forest in a remote area that had a beautiful calm lake in the middle. We shot late at night so there was nobody around and no lights at all. That means I had to use all my own lighting for the shoot but thats never a problem. Im used to shooting in low light, but no light was an interesting challenge.

12.jpg

So Jennifer was happy to fully get into this lake, which unfortunately for me meant I had to too. It was so worth it, even if we ended up very wet, cold and smelly as a result. Still nothing a change of clothes can't fix. It was totally worth it anyway. Its unlike any other shoot I've done and made some great memories along with some images I'm very proud of.

03.jpg

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

It's a really interesting story! She had an unforgettable memory with her wedding dress :) The idea of going to the lake for the shoot fits very well with the themes of breaking up, sadness, fear, and restart. Moreover, shooting in the dark adds an attractive atmosphere. You got wet but like you said it was worth it and you did a great job :)

 3 years ago 

Thank you, yes I get the impression the whole destroying of the wedding dress was related to the breadown of the marriage. I didnt want to ask too many personal questions but I can tell you she seemed delighted at the end of the shoot once we had all dried off and changed into fresh clean clothes 😅

 3 years ago 

I'm glad she felt happy at the end of the shoot. At least, both the photoshoot and her wedding dress made good memories for her in a different way 😊 After this conspicuous shot, the breakup shoot may become popular 😀

 3 years ago 

Oh God, what is she holding in her hands in the first photo ... are they really eggs ... pinch me)))

 3 years ago 

No its a pile of shells she had brought with her. I'm not sure on the exact significance but once she started posing with them I knew them would add a really interesting layer to the image.

 3 years ago 

It amazes me how you managed to put the light on the water. At the same time, I do not see any ripples on the surface.
An odd job, brother!

That first shot is incredible 👏

Pity about her marriage, but fair play to her to be able to create some amazing art with your help..

 3 years ago 

Cheers @ablaze, Im really happy with it. It made getting soaking wet and covered in pond slime worth it 😅

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 3 years ago 

Aww thank you @art-venture, much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83