New posting format - Not great for those posting images

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

Capture.JPG

Just providing a bit of feedback that the new posting format is not great for those who post images.

Previously we were able to copy/paste images into the text box. For a photographer this is great as they dont have to resize images to new files and upload. I was previously able to use the snipping tool and take a lower resolution captures of my high res files and paste in for faster posting. It was quick and simple workflow and worked well.

Obviously we can still post images using the button highlighted below but its definitely not as smooth a process, and slower too.

Capture2.JPG

I just wanted to provide some feedback as I don't think this was a change for the better. I'm sure there were reasons for it but honestly I thought the previous format was a lot nicer.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Yay, it seems to be back to normal now 😁

In my opinion...it's awful or maybe it looks like that because we aren't used to
but after you've made a post, if you hit edit
it returns you to the old editor where you can edit your post with the old fashioned way ;)

It would be better if it had a choose option button for the new editor or the old editor

After all ,as a newcomer i learned with the old fashion editor which is still available as a task in newcomers community

More frustrating is that i haven't see any guidance post for the new editor yet

 3 years ago 

Definitely an option to chose between editors would be the best way. Im sure the new one has some advantages but not as well suited some type of content.

 3 years ago 

...you can just drag in your photo.

 3 years ago 

Yes but that's still more awkward than previously. Most of my shots are high resolution so now I need to open them, re-save smaller file versions and then upload. With the old uploader I could use the snipping tool to take a lower res screenshot and quickly paste it in. I can still get the same result but these type of changes should improve or add functionality, not take it away.

 3 years ago 

Yeah thats right.

I have problems with the new format too. kind of weird :D

For me the preview is a disaster. I can't test any of the links in the preview. The old function was much better, you could see the real end result.
Also …... whenever I insert a photo the cursor jumps to the beginning of the page and I have to find the right place again.

  • old preview

2021-04-18_081123.jpg

  • The new preview

2021-04-18_081237.jpg

Where's the improvement here….I haven't found it yet :-)

 3 years ago 

Oh wow I didn't even realize the preview was so bad compared to the last one. I wonder why they made this change? I really couldn't see any issue with the last one, and never heard anyone complain. I'm sure there was some reason but this definitely seems to be a step backwards for image uploading and post formatting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50