Its Not About The Camera Gear

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

I always find it interesting when photographers focus on the camera and gear they use. Don't get me wrong I like nice shiny toys as much as the next person but in reality they rarely make all that much of a difference to the appeal of an image. Take this shoot with Kat Paine from Belfast as an example.

image.png

I was in the process of changing camera a while back when I got the chance to work with Kat. Instead of declining because I didnt have my full kit available, I shot with the kit that was available to me while I was waiting on my new setup to arrive. This was shot on a crop sensor Nikon D5300 that sells second hand for about 250 euro. I'm fairly certain I could have hired a 6000 euro Nikon D4S for this shoot and it really would have looked no different at all.

image.png

For certain styles like weddings, sport or wildlife then its more important to have a high end camera with fast reliable autofocus and good dynamic range. However for the kind of portraits I shoot, I can get pretty similar results on almost any camera because the scene is more controlled. I guess the point of this post is that for a lot of styles the knowledge of how cameras work, how images are exposed and how light behaves is way more important than the camera that's used to take the shot 😊

image.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Right!
There is a saying in Spanish: "El hábito no hace al monje"
It might translate as : "Wearing a habit doesn't make you a monk"
So often I see willing amateurs buying the best gear for whatever hobby they are attempting to take on and after little time get disappointed because the results weren't as expected and abandon it all. Your words can be read as a warning for those or as advice also.

 3 years ago 

Thats very true. It could be read as a warning that its not worth spending too much or obsessing over the camera at early stages, knowledge is far more important.

ANNOUNCEMENT

Dear member of WOX community,

@xpilar started new Initiative “Nominate and get rewarded”.

https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@xpilar/nominate-and-get-rewarded-20-trial-upvote-nomination-day-01
If you see good post of any member of
„World of xpilar“Community that in your opinion undervalued you can submit it for consideration of Upvote by Trial, posts should be:

  • posted via our community page
  • new tag to use tag #wox-bestpicks
  • 100% Power Up payout
  • No Moderator posts
  • Not your own post
  • Upvote and comment the post mentioning why you like it

If you Nominee is selected, on 2d day your post will also receive 20% of @worldofxpilar trial support

Help others been seen and get rewarded!

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38