Australian flame pea (pastel painting)

Hi everybody!

Many thanks for @bambuka for inviting to this community!

If you don't know, I am a digital artist, but sometimes I paint with traditional materials as well.

Thinking about what I can draw in February, I didn't come up with anything better than exotic flowers.

This flower, for example, has a complicated name Chorizema cordatum (or Australian flame pea)
I liked it by colorful petals as butterfly

Готовый арт.jpg

Reference from Pinterest
For the image of this flower, I took tinted dark green cardboard with a smooth surface and dry pastel in bright colors.

Sketch

Скетч.jpg

Approximately this will be the color palette (in the process of work, I added a couple more contrasting colors - in particular, dark green and deep purple

Цветовая палитра.jpg

I started the drawing with the stem of the flower.
To do this, I used two colors of green and warm yellow. Lighting is uneven due to large colors - presumably coming from somewhere to the right.
Somewhere on the shadow side I add touches of turquoise color

Этап_1.jpg

The flowers now.
The lower petals are pink-crimson, turning into a very dark one towards the middle (that's why I took a purple crayon)

Этап_2.jpg

The upper petals have a rich orange color (because of this, it is possible that the flower is called "flame pea"), but another side of it is darker, the unopened bud also has a dark color, I painted it in red

Этап_3.jpg

To show the smooth curve of the petal, I paint it with a dark terracotta color closer to the core and make a few yellow strokes closer to the edge, but not the very edge.
When all the flowers were drawn, I slightly feathered the strokes so that the individual flowers mixed up and created a smooth blending.
And I also decided to highlight the two central flowers with a contrasting green color
Closer to the edge of the leaf, this light green color will be shaded with dark green.

Этап_4.jpg

With this dark green color, I emphasize the flower stem from the illuminated side.
And I strongly shade the background green colors, fitting them into the color of the cardboard

Этап_5.jpg

So... last step for details.
I take some pastel pencils for it and draw a veins on the petals

Этап_6.jpg

Somewhere I refine the contours, somewhere, on the contrary, I smooth out too sharp strokes.
Yes, I think now my drawing is ready!

Готовый арт.jpg

A flower in the middle of winter... if you don't live somewhere in the tropics, you can draw it.
I'll be glade if my drawing like to someone

With Love...

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Nice to see you here @daring-celt !
Great drawing. In winter it gets a little warmer :-)

 2 years ago 

You are welcome 🖐️ 😊

You post is nominated for „Wold of xpilar“ Community Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from community page are eligible. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

@stef1, many thanks!
Yes, it's an original post, writing for the community special

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Thanks for support!

 2 years ago 

Hi, welcome to this community that values art :) It is very nice of you to explain the drawing stages in a detailed and informative way. I was able to follow what was going on in his picture step by step. I had not seen this flower, it really reminds me flame like its name. I like the colors you used in the picture and your drawing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05