The power of a personal gift

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

I always liked to make presents. I think that you can find a greater sense of joy when you give rather than when you receive something. We don't need a special day or occasion to be nice with each other. I think that if we can begin to comprehend the importance of the present day, we realise that it's never too soon to show affection , love, caring. Especially during difficult times we can understand that there is nothing as valuable as today.

WhatsApp Image 2021-12-25 at 12.35.34 AM.jpg

When I think about making a special gesture towards someone, I plan ahead. I listen to them carefully long before to hear what do they like, what secret wishes they desire, what makes them smile and be happy. I think that it's very important to listen more and talk less in order to really have an idea about the other's personality. Of course that not everybody pays attention to details in a natural way, but I think we can educate ourselves to make a better job at understanding the other person's needs.

When I started to draw for this former friend of mine, I knew what he wanted. He just managed to get his motorcycle license and buy himself a honda. He was in complete joy. I knew that a personal gift would be what he would have wanted. So , in my opinion, what's more personal than a work of art, made and signed by me?

image.png

I have chosen an octopus because of two reasons: 1. I am so very fascinated by this animal, it's my favourite marine creature. 2. It made perfect sense with my idea of keeping safe while riding the bike, hang onto that bike and don't let it go, just like an octopus grabs something with its tentacles and hardly ever lets it go. I wanted to express my desire of showing that I care about his safety and that being healthy and ok it's the most important thing.

image.png

I couldn't control myself in not adding dots to this:))) As a pointillist artist....I feel this urge to dotify ( if this is even a word:))) almost everything. I wouldn't stop until I am completely satisfied with the result.

image.png

The look on his face after I was done and gave this to him was priceless. I know that few people will make such a personal gesture and therefore my temporary presence in his life shall be unique forever. I also wrote a personal sentence on the back of the drawing, but I rather keep it unsaid because that's the charm of a personal gift.

WhatsApp Image 2021-12-25 at 12.35.34 AM.jpg

WhatsApp Image 2021-12-25 at 12.35.34 AM.jpg

WhatsApp Image 2021-12-25 at 12.35.34 AM.jpg

I think that the beauty of a personal gift is beginning to fade away in our fast fast era. It's easier to order online from a gift shop or buy something from a store just to get away with it as fast as we can. But it's not the same as receiving something handmade. Just for you. One of a kind gift with a bit of soul put into it. Never to be done again.

WhatsApp Image 2021-12-25 at 12.35.34 AM.jpg

Have a beautiful day and make a random gift for a loved one! Today! It's never too soon:) Toodle loo!

image.png

The time has come to build our own steem power

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

A wonderful gift :)
What is done with your own hands is always more valuable and shows your personal attitude towards a person.

 2 years ago 

thank you friend for your positive message

 2 years ago 

You are welcome 🖐️ 😊

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

Hola amiga @creativemary,

Pero no es lo mismo que recibir algo hecho a mano. Solo para ti.

Estoy muy de acuerdo contigo, a mi me gusta más dar regalos hechos por mi, tarjetas, cartas, pulseras... 😃 al dedicar tu tiempo y esfuerzo, estas regalando una parte de ti también, eso creo que tiene más valor. A mi me gustan más recibir esos regalos también jajaja.
Me gustó mucho tu dibujo, muy original. ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84