Cielo pecorino! [ENG-SPA]

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago

''Cielu picurinu, s'un chiovi oij chiovi 'o matinu''

This is written in sicilian dialect. Since I was little i kept listening to this proverb. My mom was born in Sicily and it was in this dialect that she used to always speak to me, of course, aside from spanish. Everytime i see a ''pecorino'' sky, i mean, with clouds that look like cotton balls or sheep fur, i remember this saying she always says. I can't help but smile.

The literal meaning is:

''If the sky is pecorino, if it doesn't rain today, it will rain tomorrow morning.''


Está escrito en dialecto siciliano. Desde pequeña crecí escuchando esto. Mi mamá proviene de Sicilia y era en este dialecto en el que me hablaba siempre, claro, además del español. Cada vez que veo un cielo ''pecorino'', es decir, con las nubes que parecen bolitas de algodón o pelaje de oveja, recuerdo esto que ella suele decir siempre. No puedo evitar sonreír.

La traducción literal es:

''Si el cielo es pecorino, si no llueve hoy, lloverá mañana por la mañana.''


20201124_121952.jpg


Picture taken with my Samsung S10+

Sort:  

Hi @clacrax, thank you for posting from our Community and it is nice to know that you are from Italy, your mother like my one she also likes such folk's knowledge and quotes :)

Yes! I think there is so much wisdom in those proverbs if one just learns to listen. Thank you for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44