You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Diary Game Project: is it easy to write a diary?

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

I agree the 300 word rule is too harsh, especially for people who write in English as a second language. Additionally, not everyone has had the opportunity for higher education. Writing is not "easy". It takes a lot of practice to gain skill.

Personally, I do not mind when I see a post that starts off with "I woke up and brushed my teeth and said my prayers". That is a witness to lived experience. The fact that so many diary posts begin this way actually means something in terms of cultural expression. They delivery may not be as sophisticated as other types of posts, but it is what it is.

What I enjoy in the diary posts are pictures of what is going on in the writer's life. I want to see their village or city, I want to see what they are eating or what they are working on. That is of interest to me. It doesn't need to be profound. It doesn't need to be 300 words. It just needs to be honest.

So, I guess my opinion is that the 300 word rule is oppressive and elitist. There are other ways to judge quality.

Sort:  

Hi @brittilicious, thank you for taking part in this discussion. Yes, agree with you too. But have you noticed that for D.G. many write in their own language, there never was a rule to do the Diary in English. That is why anyone who has finished a secondary school should be able to write in their mother language and writing 300 words should not be too difficult.

I believe what was mentioned before, some posts do not have a high point, like in any story there is a beginning, the main body and conclusion, only then the story is interesting. Many users rush and do not think about it. On other hand many posts are daily and of course there is not much happening on daily basis, therefore, it becomes something ordinary.

I also agree that to see how other people live and work or the nature. I do not think I would be delighted to see daily meals, except there is a recipe and of course nicely made pictures.

At the end, we are all different and there are definitely many people who like to do those D.G. routine posts for one or other reasons.

Personally, I do not mind when I see a post that starts off with "I woke up and brushed my teeth and said my prayers".

I thought it was very funny. :) You missed the moment that after a person wakes up, he does not immediately brush his teeth. 😂😂😂
And by the way, I taught my children to brush their teeth after breakfast, not before breakfast. And I didn't teach them to pray.

 2 years ago 

The posts that begin that way tend to be from followers of Islam. I expect there is some sort of function for proclaiming that they have properly performed their ritual ablutions and prayers. As a reader, and non-Muslim, what I interpret is a proclamation of faith and an assertion that they adhere to certain values.

It's all good for me--even if I don't truly need to be reminded every single post that they continue to be observant Muslims. :-) I trust them.

I totally agree with you! I also noticed a similar trend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34