Just TWO radishessteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

I have been waiting WEEKS for some radish to be ready. WEEKS! Finally, today I could pick some radishes. Just TWO radishes, mind you. Although I have planted many, only two baby radishes were large enough to pluck from the soil.

radish1.jpg

There is one. Right next to a sprout of garlic. I have been watching this radish intently, waiting for it to be big enough to pick. I made sure the little radish was free of competing weeds and gently hoed the soil around it to release some nutritious nitrogen. Still, this little radish took it's time.

My patience finally wore thin and I plucked these slow little radishes from my cold frame. Yes, my cold frame is required to grow any vegetables this early in the season. Zone 2 baby, I get my vegetables the hard way.

radish2.jpg

Here they are. The two largest radishes in my little patch. As radishes go, these are still tiny, but big enough to eat. Sadly, I do not have anything else to go with them. My land is still barren except for the tiniest seedlings still too timid to make a move. There is just a thin chive here and a green onion top there. Not enough to make a salad without the help of imported romaine leaves and celery stalks.

radishsalad.jpg

Here are my newly harvested radishes all jumbled up with the immigrant leaves. I am so glad these vegetables have made the long journey from warmer climes. Thanks for coming and making my salad whole.

This is a 100% Power Up! post.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Lovely radishes.

I had this experience with Thai chilis I grow in a pot. I ate the first chili recently... Waited for a long to try.

I have many small ones, growing on my plants...

No land here, just an apartment.

 3 years ago 

You can grow lots of vegetables in pots--especially if you have a patio or balcony with sun exposure. Do you like tomatoes? They grow well in pots.

 3 years ago 

No balcony here.

I had much basil last year in pots made of large plastic bottles.

I like tomatoes. I saw a video you can grow them upside down ... Good when not enough space.

Maybe I will start some parsley this year. Still not late. But I think about travelling somewhere. Want to be free... If I go, I can eat all parsley and I'll transport my chili by taxi to my father's place.

 3 years ago 

Interesting! The good thing about pots is that you can just give them to someone else to take care of if you need to go somewhere.

 3 years ago 

Looks good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77