Harvest TimesteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

I cannot even describe how busy I have been. Harvest time is here and I have spent a ridiculous amount of time picking and preserving vegetables. The tomatoes are ripening faster than I can do something with them.

tomato.jpg

We have been eating fresh vegetables every night. I just throw them into a pan and hope for the best. Tonight I cooked some tomatoes, onions and peppers and ate them over pasta.

tomato dinner.jpg

Despite the drought, the corn did very well this year. Turns out that heat dome was good for something after all. I have been shrink wrapping it and putting it in the freezer. We will be able to eat corn on the cob all winter.

corn boil.jpg

It was not a good year for cucumbers and I do not even have enough to make pickles. If I claim that I grew 6 cucumbers this year I might even be exaggerating. I took what few I had and made refrigerator pickles out of them. I figured there was no point in canning them if they would be gone within a couple of weeks.

pickled.jpg

I am now in a race against the frost. It could come at any time. The nights are definitely colder, and the weather has been erratic. Just yesterday we had a tornado watch and there was a catastrophic hail storm about an hour south of me. In the blink of an eye, all of the hard work of gardening can be gone, so the last weeks in August and September are extremely busy.

So I pick, and I preserve, and then I pick some more. There is so much work to do, but I will get it done. It will not be long before the snow flies and I am stuck inside with little to do.

This is a 100% POWER UP! post.

Sort:  

😀 great harvest!

 3 years ago 

Thanks!

Congratulations @brittilicious, your post is selected "Power Up 100% (Nominate day 18)"

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM

 3 years ago 

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65668.23
ETH 2619.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65