Glass blowingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

A couple of years ago, I took a glass blowing class. It was fun, but a lot of hard work. The result of my labour are these 4 globs of glass.

glassblowing.jpg

These globs of glass do not really have much of a function. I suppose that I could use them as paper weights, but they just sit there. Once a week I wipe the dust off them.

Occasionally, someone sees them and asks what they are. I answer that they are some globs of glass that I made. The person stares at them for a moment and then changes the subject. It seems that few appreciate my unbridled creativity.

The reality is that these worthless globs of glass took a lot of effort to create. I had to stick a long metal rod into a ferocious furnace called a 'glory hole' and grab a glob of molten glass. This stock photo from Alamy will give you the idea of what a glory hole looks like. Trust me when I say it is like standing next to lava.

molten-glass-on-end-of-glass-blowing-rod-being-lifted-out-of-the-glory-hole-furnace-S2TAX9.jpg

A glory hole must be 1000s of degrees Fahrenheit. That is hot. The kind of hot that turns sand into liquid. It is also bright and there is a need to wear UV blocking protective glasses. People will also wear long asbestos gloves to prevent their skin from burning.

This YouTube video explains the process of blowing glass. On one hand it gets right to the point, on the other hand, the video is a little bit amusing because the lady makes it look like there is no discomfort involved. The reality is that the furnace is so bright you cannot look at it, it is so hot in the room that everyone is sweating, and dipping the rod into the furnace is done as quickly as possible. Standing near the furnace can make one feel as though they are about to spontaneously combust.

Normally, people will wear old clothes that they do not mind will get burn holes in them. So, the nice dress this lady is wearing is a bit amusing. I guess since she is promoting glass blowing classes, she wants it to look easy, clean, and fun.

Would I take another glass blowing class? Yes, but only during the winter months.

👉👉👉👉👉 This post is made with 100% PowerUp 👈👈👈👈👈👈

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I would not say that this is an easy art. The temperature is really high and you must first of all be careful in this matter.
Your balls actually look great!

 3 years ago 

Thanks!

Yes, the demonstration video makes it look very easy, but the reality is that it extremely hot, the glass is heavy, AND it is very easy to get hurt. While I was in my class, the instructors trousers caught on fire!

 3 years ago 

I have not dealt with glass blowing, but I have a good idea of these conditions. It is somewhat like a forge :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55971.81
ETH 2362.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32