Snatching a Bit of Gardening Time

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

IMG_20220906_094409.jpg

Phew... this was a luxury! An entire day at home to try and get some backyard work done! Except... I had to go into get some other administration chores done in the morning, and so what I was hoping to be a full day of mucking around in the garden ended up being significantly less... but still, a few solid hours of getting things done. Plus, the plumbers dropped by and finished off the last of the drainage stuff and fixed up the remained downpipes. Just in time for some stormy weather in the coming days.

Anyway, I've been eyeing off this pile of woodchips in our front... the remnants from a tree or two that were taken down several months ago. With spring fast approaching (actually... it is technically already spring)I really got to get started on mulching the sunny exposed areas of the gardens otherwise we will quickly find ourselves over-run with weeds. I already did a batch of weeding today... and it is still manageable, but they are growing fast!

I also want to use some of the mulch to go under the swing set... to raise the ground level up a little bit so that the little one can easily reach the swing, and also to reduce the amount of muddiness that ends up being there when the rain comes. Kids and mud... well, doesn't really go well together if you want to keep a house that is relatively clean!

img_20220907_125156.jpg

I also picked up some Dynamic Lifter when I dropped by the garden centre on the way back from the administration stuff. This is the really stinky stuff... even though this was supposed to be a reduced odour recipe. I had to leave the car open and airing out for a while afterwards...

I had thought to get some manure/fertiliser... but I didn't really read the thing properly, and had ended up with this stuff. I spread a bag out among some of the newly planted shrubs, herbs, and other plants to help them grow out a bit and to hopefully enrich the heavy clay soil... apparently it can also help with that, and at the moment, we are trying to do everything we can to break it up a bit!

img_20220907_130446.jpg

Meanwhile... I had mentioned that there was a storm coming in... and I wanted to make sure that our roof and gutters were in tip-top shape to meet the challenge! We've actually not had any problems since the drainage was installed properly and this leaf guard has kept the gutters flowing nicely. But there is still this problem of smaller debris forming at the ends of the tiles when they come into contact with the plastic guard...

... I don't think it is a huge problem, but I could see that it would hinder the flow of water a little bit though. So, I figured I would just go around the roof and just clear these little blockages. After all, there was one huge storm a month or two ago that did overload our gutters for about 20 minutes and we had water in the eaves and pouring out of a light fitting. On the other, half of Canberra also had the same or much worse problems!

I did talk to one of the plumbers today, and he seemed to think that one of the gutter lines was drooping in the middle, and so the water wasn't channeling out to the downpipe properly. It was only clear in the heavy rain, as that meant that the bulk of the water was only heading down a single channel instead of two. So, add that to the list of house tweaks that need to be paid for!

img_20220907_130527.jpg

... I have to say that I'm pretty happy that our gutters have been leaf free since the installation of the guards. It isn't completely perfect, but it does mean that I don't need to be on the roof quite so often... and when I do, it is just to hop up and blow away the debris with a leaf blower, and not needing to do all the scraping of the gutters as well!

I can also be found cross-posting at:
Hive
Steem
Publish0x

Handy Crypto Tools

Ledger Nano S/X: Keep your crypto safe and offline with the leading hardware wallet provider. Not your keys, not your crypto!
Binance: My first choice of centralised exchange, featuring a wide variety of crypto and savings products.
GMX.io: Decentralised perpetual futures trading on Arbitrum!
Kucoin: My second choice in exchanges, many tokens listed here that you can't get on Binance!
FTX: Regulated US-based exchange with some pretty interesting and useful discounts on trading and withdrawal fees for FTT holders. Decent fiat on-ramp as well!
MXC: Listings of lots of interesting tokens that are usually only available on DEXs. Avoid high gas prices!
Huobi: One of the largest exchanges in the world, some very interesting listings and early access sales through Primelist.
Gate.io: If you are after some of the weirdest and strangest tokens, this is one of the easiest off-chain places to get them!
Coinbase: If you need a regulated and safe environment to trade, this is the first exchange for most newcomers!
Crypto.com: Mixed feelings, but they have the BEST looking VISA debit card in existence! Seriously, it is beautiful!
CoinList: Access to early investor and crowdsale of vetted and reserached projects.
Cointracking: Automated or manual tracking of crypto for accounting and taxation reports.
Poloniex: One of the older regulated exchanges that has come into new ownership. I used to use it quite a lot, but have since stopped.
Bitfinex: Ahhh... another oldie, but a goodie exchange. Most noted for the close affiliation with USDT and the Basic "no-KYC" tier!

Sort:  

Breeding green goodness!💚☘ Resteemed.

At home something to do never ends, I like the protection you use for the water channel and so you don't have problems up on the roof, I had it was a mesh and my neighbors' cats destroyed it, when they passed by, haha ​​that's fertilizers strong but resulting for the plants the bad thing is the smell that remains in the car.

Greetings

Ah yes, that mesh is definitely a great thing! I still need to clean it out occasionally... but much less than if all those leaves were collecting in there!

😉👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51