Gardening Together!

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

Gardening Together!.jpg

Ahhhh... last night I had driven back home from Sydney immediately after the concert to be able to be back home with my family for a least a whole day! So, when the kids had gone to school.. my wife and I (and her father) ended up spending a long morning and part of the afternoon in our garden, tidying up everything, getting some mulch down, and doing some little rock wall building. I did have a bunch of administrative work to do, but in the end, I figured that I could always do that sort of thing from a hotel room instead... but to spend a day just gardening and working in the yard with each other was time well spent!

Of course, given my wife's current back problems... there were only a limited amount of things that she could do... but still, it was an enjoyable day together... slowly working on making the place ours, a project that will likely be a lifetime's work!

Gardening Together!.jpg

So... my father in law had already spend the days before clearing and transporting the earth from the piles at the back to the front areas. That had made the ground a bit more level in the places where the earth had subsided where the trenches had been laid... so, quite a lot of stuff was moved, and we are now down to half the amount of earth in the back that will need to be still moved around.

Gardening Together!.jpg

Meanwhile, there were still areas where I had to rebuild the rock wall that was holding the earth back and away from the house. I need to make a start on this side, as the rain is starting to move the soil from the top level down to the lower part... it isn't drastic yet, but I will need to get on it before it collapses. As you can see, I have started with the larger rocks on the right hand side of the photo... I will also probably have to start angling the earth that rests behind the rocks so that the angle of the wall will be stronger than a straight up/down.

Gardening Together!.jpg

This bit will definitely need a bit more angling, and then I will have to still dig a trench further around to make it drain the lower lying areas of the path sot hat it doesn't turn into a muddy patch every time it rains! But this isn't a critical priority, the ground gets wet, but it doesn't get under the house... and the trench digging will be pretty hard work... plus, I will need to order in a load of gravel as well!

Gardening Together!.jpg

Meanwhile, I got myself a new (second-hand) toy... a shredder/mulcher. Basically, you feed in branches and sticks, and you get out shredded woodchips! It isn't an industrial one, so it will only take branches that around 4 centimetres thick... but it does mean that I have to make far fewer trips to the green waste tip, and there is something quite satifying about turning huge long branch debris into woodchips!

Gardening Together!.jpg

Heh heh.... crazily satisfying!

Gardening Together!.jpg

Meanwhile, laying down mulch in the front part of the block... We needed to have some sort of border to stop everything just washing away. We had pulled up a path down the back when the drainage was being built, so there are a huge pile of pavers back there. My wife doesn't want to reconstruct the same path, and there seems to be talk of building a deck out the back instead. So, we have a pile of pavers with no purpose... and so I suggested using them as the bordering. So, they will form a temporary bordering for the mulching, but it will be eventually be replaced by a more permanent solution. Honestly, I was a little bit surprised that one of my suggestions was accepted!

Whilst moving the pavers from the back to the front... I saw a slug was on the side of one of them. Given that I hadn't had enough sleep last night due to the driving and late home arrival (my brain isn't ticking over quite properly...), I thought it would be a great idea to just squish it between two pavers. It exploded... into my face (thankfully I wear glasses...), and bits went into my mouth... bleah, bleah, bleah... I'm an idiot sometimes...

Gardening Together!.jpg

So, we have managed to make a bit of a dent in the giant mulch and woodchip pile that was the remains of the trees and branches that were taken down several months ago... a lot more to go, but then we also have a lot of area on our block to cover!

Gardening Together!.jpg

... and the front corner is starting to take shape! But like I said... there is still a LOT of area to cover!

I can also be found cross-posting at:
Hive
Steem
Publish0x

Handy Crypto Tools

Ledger Nano S/X: Keep your crypto safe and offline with the leading hardware wallet provider. Not your keys, not your crypto!
Binance: My first choice of centralised exchange, featuring a wide variety of crypto and savings products.
GMX.io: Decentralised perpetual futures trading on Arbitrum!
Kucoin: My second choice in exchanges, many tokens listed here that you can't get on Binance!
FTX: Regulated US-based exchange with some pretty interesting and useful discounts on trading and withdrawal fees for FTT holders. Decent fiat on-ramp as well!
MXC: Listings of lots of interesting tokens that are usually only available on DEXs. Avoid high gas prices!
Huobi: One of the largest exchanges in the world, some very interesting listings and early access sales through Primelist.
Gate.io: If you are after some of the weirdest and strangest tokens, this is one of the easiest off-chain places to get them!
Coinbase: If you need a regulated and safe environment to trade, this is the first exchange for most newcomers!
Crypto.com: Mixed feelings, but they have the BEST looking VISA debit card in existence! Seriously, it is beautiful!
CoinList: Access to early investor and crowdsale of vetted and reserached projects.
Cointracking: Automated or manual tracking of crypto for accounting and taxation reports.
Poloniex: One of the older regulated exchanges that has come into new ownership. I used to use it quite a lot, but have since stopped.
Bitfinex: Ahhh... another oldie, but a goodie exchange. Most noted for the close affiliation with USDT and the Basic "no-KYC" tier!

Sort:  

What a laugh you can't deny you did a lot they accepted a suggestion ha ha, I like that shredder it saves time and you can make a good compost with those dry branches.

Cheers!

I'm loving the shredder! I just showed my kids how to use it together with supervision... they love watching the branches go in and mulch come out!