Series "Practical advice" #2 - Camera selection

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

I continue to share my humble photography experience as part of the WORLD OF XPILAR Community Newbie Support Program. Photography starts with a camera to some extent. Although it all starts with the intention of the person.

For me, there are two types of people who are involved in photography.
The first category (probably the most numerous) people with mobile phone in hand. They take a photo of what they see (many see only themselves and constantly take selfies ... a joke). To some extent, this can be attributed to reportage photography. In this case, the photo is often taken without much thought. "As it is". There are enough people like that with a real camera in their hands. It's easy, fun, why not. But this does not apply to creativity.

Another category is people who want to show something through photography. Maybe convey a mood, some emotions. Can reveal the beauty of a place or moment. These people have an idea before photographing, they have a goal that they strive to achieve. At the same time, they can shoot both with a smartphone, as well as with a special camera. The approach itself is important here.

I respect everyone's choice equally. This is his desire, decision and opportunities. But at the same time, creative people are more attractive to me.

банер21.jpg

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgn8fCN77m1Qpy1KdQ.jpg
homemade lens and result

Today I will share some of my thoughts on how to take beautiful photographs. My last sentence contains a small mine. If you thought I was going to tell you the name of the camera or lens that takes great pictures ... you are wrong.

Neither the camera nor the lens takes amazing photos; they are taken by the head and hands of the photographer. I have already said somewhere that a creative person is able to take a good photo using a beer can with a hole, and a piece of film placed in this can. Yes, it's a pinhole.

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnDuC6d1yNS1RT7Yz.jpg

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgn4WDrRT8eEQjJ2bg.jpg
other homemade lens and result

Still, a few words about cameras and lenses. Oddly enough, the question "what to buy" is one of the most difficult. The choice is too great and there is too much information. At the same time, there is actually little useful information. Everyone wants to sell, this is their desired result. But if you search the Internet for different reviews and reports with reviews, then some kind of picture in your head develops.
So, if you have not tried to shoot with a camera yet, then buy the cheapest one on the secondary market. Just try to figure out if you need a camera at all.

For me, the camera differs from a smartphone only in the presence of a manual settings mode. If you buy an expensive camera, but intend to use the built-in shooting programs ... this is almost the same as the capabilities of a modern smartphone. Some even have a semblance of manual settings.

By purchasing a cheap camera and practicing different shooting modes, you will understand what you want from the camera in the first place. Determine which lens you need for your creative needs.

If you are ready to invest in a camera, and you already know for yourself that you will use manual settings and RAW file format, then I advise you to pay attention to mirrorless cameras with interchangeable lenses.

My first conscious purchase of a camera was a SONY A57 DSLR. For a long time I thought that this is an excellent device and I don't need another one. This is a really great camera, but once I had the opportunity to buy a full-frame camera from the same company ... now my first camera is with my son and apparently will not return to me.

But I got carried away with my personal history. Get to the point. What is important to have a camera to make your creative photography life easier.

  • Ability to shoot in RAW mode. This mode saves as much as possible all the information that has flown through the lens to your matrix. This greatly expands the possibilities of further photo processing.
  • The presence of the Live View mode in your camera will allow you to see in the viewfinder exactly what gets to the matrix and in what form it gets there. You don't need to calculate the setting values. You will see them in real time. You will immediately see the result of pressing the shutter button. This is very convenient, especially when there is a shortage of time.
    *The ability to change the lens. Different conditions require different lenses. There are almost universal ones, but at the expense of a compromise with photo quality. Or their price is prohibitive. I'll make a separate post about lenses. This is a very interesting topic.

If all of this is in your camera, then you have a great camera. By and large, it doesn't matter what brand your camera will be if you are an aspiring photographer. This is then, with a lot of practical experience, an understanding of subtle nuances and differences will come to you, and you will have certain preferences.

So for a start, you can buy an inexpensive aftermarket camera. The way there will be no interchangeable lens, RAW format and Live View, but let there be manual settings for shutter speed, aperture, white balance and ISO. You need practice, a lot of practice. Shoot exclusively in manual mode.

Without changing the location and subject, take several photos with different settings and compare the results. Soon you will begin to understand your camera and all the principles of photography. You will understand what you are missing in this camera or with this lens. That's when you make an informed purchase. You will not be advertising-oriented, you will be based on your experience and your requests.



CameraSony A7М2
LensHelios-40-2
LocationRussia
Post productionin LR

Manual processing in Lightroom


Unless otherwise specified, the text and photos are mine


From Russia with Love


Regards, @bambuka

Sort:  

Thanks for this professional teaching

 3 years ago 

I would not call it vocational training. Just sharing experiences.
Thank you for your kind words :)

Greetings @bambuka. I bought my first camera (nikon d3400) 4 years ago. I think it is one of the best choices to start.
When I bought it I was astonished by the quality of the pictures it was capturing and I hadn't use my mobile phone for photography more than 2 years. I was very happy with my photos, but not anymore.
The last two years I am thinking of upgrading my photographic equipment and go from DSLR to mirrorless because they are smaller in size and I think easier to use. I also will stay with same company, I think nikon is the best brand.

Unfortunately, usually I am capturing pictures on the auto mode. I have no idea how to adjust the camera so either I take pictures automatically or I use some ready-made settings depending on what I want to photograph.

I have tried to read how to adjust the camera and I have seen a lot of videos but when I go out for photos I do not succeed and return to the auto function.

By the way I love these practical advice series, can you please make a post in the future, explaining how to adjust the camera settings? I would be much obliged. 🙏

 3 years ago 

I haven't used Nikon, so I can't say anything specific about it. But I think he's good enough. This camera has everything you need for creative shooting in manual mode.

A mirrorless camera is more convenient and smaller in size. If possible, I recommend buying a full-matrix (FF) camera. Your camera now has a matrix with a 1.5 crop factor.

By shooting modes. It is necessary to master the manual mode. It's actually not difficult at all. It is important to understand which setting is responsible for what and what it gives for photography. I was just about to make a post or several (as it goes in size) on the topic of manual settings. This is what separates the camera from the phone.
In the settings, it is important to understand the physics of the process.
Also, if you buy a new camera, pay attention to the presence of the Live View mode. This greatly simplifies manual adjustments - you can immediately see the result on the display.

@skywaystelios I shoot a Nikon D750, love it! I bought it because I had been shooting on a Nikon film camera. I can interchange lens between both digital and film, that is nice. With Nikons amazing technology, it is hard not to shoot in auto mode.

Learning which shutter speed, ISO and f/stop to choose to get a good images is the never ending learning experience of the photographer. That is why camera companies came out with automatic settings, manual settings is a hard concept to get. How you determine the settings are situational to the outcome you want.

I have am about to start two presentations for my photo club on short and long exposure time. I will do a posts in this community with the same information.

@bambuka Great post my friend! You are so correct, It is not the camera, but the photographer.

 3 years ago 

Glad to see you @eiafp :)
Are you back already or are these messages from the road?

Yes, I am back - with lots of stuff to catch up on! So many photos, so little time :)

 3 years ago 

Congratulations, dear friend))
We are waiting for photos!

Heh, interestinG. You are master homemade lens))

 3 years ago 

This is an interesting topic. I love tinkering with his own hands :)

Btw, I shoted on Sony Nex 3n later, but it is broken and now I shot on my friends old camera, Nikon 5100)

 3 years ago 

Both cameras have everything to take high quality photos. I am not familiar with cameras from Nikon, but there are ardent adherents and fans :-))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79