Showcase Sunday - The La Pineda Collection 2006-2010

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago

This is the second part of my showcase Sunday collection highlighting the Nativity sculptures of La Pineda, Catalonia. This project has been running since 2000 and I am the longest attendee. I think I only missed two years. Here are the sculptures from 2006 to 2010 which pretty much brings us up to date in the ones I've so far documented. The latest one I just posted 8 days ago.

As I'm sure you can see every year has been quite different and some just plain crazy. This is why this project has become so Popular. The town hall is very happy with the exposure it gets because it has become some what of a controversy every year with some people loving it and some hating it. As Oscar Wilde once said 'There is only one thing worse than being talked about and that is not being talked about.'

Some years have been better than others but they have always been noteworthy and so its nice for me to give them a second viewing here on Hive.

As always you can click the image to be brought to the original post for the full low down.



A modern nativity

Our take on what Christmas has become and for my particular area a weird sculpture about consumerism and how it has become about companies just destroying the earth so they can sell you more shit you don't need. Don't get me wrong I still love Christmas especially now that I can enjoy it through the eyes of my son.



Nativity à la Spanish artists

With this year we decided to create the sculpture as a homage to all the great Spanish and Catalan artists. I chose Dali and created a pretty simple piece in my interpretation of his style.



Manga Nativity

Mixing Manga and a nativity was a bit left field but I really enjoyed trying to make Mary as a Japanese school girl. It was also a great opportunity to try out Wilfred Stijger's new ball making tool.



Super Sized Nativity

Making big stuff is where sand really shines for me and this year was a lot of fun to blow everything up to giant size. Style wise it was quite traditional, that was OK with me and I still think it was one of the best years.



Box Nativity

It feels like it was only last week when I post about this one because it was. I hope it doesn't seem that I am trying to milk the same content but I think it is important for me to have them all in order and these showcases help me catalog them.

So that's it for this week. I am working on some new posts at the moment and should have a few to published during the week. I wish I could be more consistent with my posting but writing these up, believe it or not, takes time and life sometimes gets in the way.

Have a great Sunday
@ammonite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66256.41
ETH 2643.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68