A portrait of an unknown monk - sand sculpturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago



Here is the last piece I made for the 2014 Fulong beach project in Taiwan. I had one more day left and a bank of sand to put manners on. I must say it was a brutal project because of the heavy, almost continual rain. My energy levels were also pretty low after the last piece so I was pretty much carving on autopilot.

I don't actually know who this was supposed to be exactly. All I know was he was some sort of famous monk that I was given some resource materials on and asked to create a portrait of him.



There was some text and a temple beside him that someone else carved, which may explain his identity. I was glad they didn't ask me to do the text as I would have been just transcribing it as an image and not have a clue what I was writing. This, I am sure could have made it illegible and knowing my luck I could have insulted someone.



As a project and country, I really enjoyed Taiwan. The work was difficult but the grace and kindness of the locals made up for it. People were always so helpful. I visited Taipei a few times on days off and every time I took out my map to see where the hell I was someone would approach me and ask could they help.

Normally when I go to a big city I will usually try and find the underground markets far off from the tourist routes. This is where you will find the best prices and the most interesting nick-knacks. I got a few gadgets and yokeymebobs but unfortunately nothing to write home about.

It was also a nice group of sculptors to hang out with and although we were all tired in the evening from the unrelenting rain we had some fun times,

As an Irish person, I thought that we held the record for rainfall but apparently, that title should go to Taiwan.

Sort:  

Wow, this is really creative

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much. I just wish I knew who he was supposed to be.

 3 years ago 

It's interesting how this process achieved great precision, beauty and meaning through the hands and ideas from many people in "hidden" collaboration. Impressive work and great experience!!

Thanks for share on the World of Xpilar!!


 3 years ago 

Thank you very much. I like to work as part of a bigger team and see all the elements come together to create something bigger than any individual can achieve.

 3 years ago 

When the goals are clear, collaborative work always bring great results!
The best winds for life and projects, @Ammonite!!

 3 years ago 

Wow, this is amazing!

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much,

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

 3 years ago 

thank you guys and girls for the upvotes

 3 years ago 

!shop

 3 years ago 

Thank you.

你好鸭,ammonite!

@eii给您叫了一份外卖!

新手村三宝 瓜子 汽水 小板凳

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86