Massandra Palace

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

Hello friends!!!
Today I will go back two years ago and.... we will go on a photo trip to the Massandra Palace. In the 19th century it was built for the Russian tsar Alexander 3. Now it is a museum around which there is a large well-kept park. I was there in November, so the weather was foggy and cool....probably this is what English castles look like))
And even though the weather was bad, there was a huge bonus from this. There were no tourists around, just us and a few families walking around the park and taking pictures of this beautiful Gothic-style palace. Well, if you want to know more about it, then here is a link to Google maps

https://goo.gl/maps/a1RidwnDMty3dUQHA

Привет друзья!!!
Сегодня я вернусь на два года назад и .... мы отправимся в фотопутешествие в Массандровский дворец. В 19 веке он был построен для русского царя Александра 3. Сейчас это музей вокруг которого располагается большой ухоженный парк. Я там был в ноябре, поэтому погода была туманной и прохладной....наверное так выглядят английские замки))
И хоть погода была плохой, но был огромный бонус от этого. Вокруг не было туристов, лишь мы, да и несколько семей гуляли по парку и фотографировали этот красивый дворец в готическом стиле. Ну а если вы хотите о нем узнать побольше, то вот ссылка на гугл картах

https://goo.gl/maps/a1RidwnDMty3dUQHA

IMG_20201110_125515.jpg

IMG_20201110_125612.jpg

IMG_20201110_125050.jpg

IMG_20201110_125152.jpg

IMG_20201110_125152к.jpg

IMG_20201110_125212.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful photographs like always. I have been meaning to ask you @alexey1976…how did you start into photography?

Did you just buy a camera and start shooting photos…and learning on the way? Did you go to school for it? Plus, taking photographs of scenery is one thing, but how did you get into taking pictures of people (family and wedding photos, models, etc…)?

And how does the pay structure work? It makes sense that people pay you to take family and wedding photos. And taking pictures of scenery is probably at no cost. But what about models, do they pay you to take the photos, and then they use those photos to promote themselves?

And does it cost a lot for the equipment; the cameras, the lighting, the studios, the locations, etc…?

I really enjoy doing renders. And I think about photography often because I have to use different photographic techniques in my renders. And I am just curious about the business of photography.

 last year 

Hi! I'll try to tell you everything. I started taking pictures a long time ago and at first I had a very simple digital camera from Casio. I photographed the flowers) .
I started studying myself by buying specialized magazines about photography. (now there is a lot of information on the Internet and it is easier to learn yourself) I also read books on posing for models, composition and others.
Then I began to train on my friends, acquaintances and their children. Everyone was happy: I was getting experience, and they were photos....and we had an interesting time.
Then, through friends, I was advised to go to the wedding as a photographer. It was the first time and very scary))
Gradually, I developed a portfolio that I could show to potential clients.

On the issue of payment, I act like this: if I want to photograph the model myself and she agrees, then we do it for free. If someone comes to me for my services, then I say the price for my work. In Russia, the photographer usually takes payment for an hour. But I have to explain to the client what he will get as a result of this hour's work. (For example, 100 photos with color correction and 10 in retouching).
Sometimes customers order a photobook of photos, then it's a separate fee.

I take pictures on a Canon, but also many use Nikon or Sony.
If you live in the USA, then probably you
will have that equipment even cheaper than in Russia.

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond @alexey1976, this is a lot of great information.

So I need a camera :) And friends and family that are willing to get in front of that camera :)

I may have asked you before, but is it better to take photos outside (natural light) or inside?

Yeah, I'm in the US. I was looking at camera prices, they range from $400 to $2,500 (US Dollars)… and I'm sure it can get a lot more expensive when you get “extra equipment” with it.

I use photoshop to touch up my renders, so I'm sure I can do the same with photographs. What “touch up” software do you use?

 last year 

Thank you for being interested in my experience. I will continue my story)
I would recommend starting to take photos in natural light (outdoors, in the city or indoors, but with a large window). Here you will not need additional equipment costs.
If you want to photograph portraits indoors, it is also advisable to have an external flash, as well as a tripod and a softbox. (for starters, one is possible, but preferably two or three, so that you can experiment with light). But this is extra money....and you need a car to carry with you, since it will already be hard) . It is better to rent a studio with lighting equipment, there they will tell you how to better position the light.

Regarding the camera, I would recommend choosing an average price. Not the cheapest, but you don't need an expensive one either, you won't be able to use all its functionality. It is better to invest money in good optics. (In Russia, used cameras are getting much cheaper, but optics keeps the price, so this is a good investment)

To process photos, I use Photoshop and Lightrum from Adobe. If you also work in Photoshop, then everything will be familiar to you.

This is amazing advice, thank you @alexey1976. Especially the “optics” part…I didn’t think of that…but now that you say it, it makes perfect sense.

And another thing, when I create renders, lighting is incredibly important, it can turn a render from average to incredible if I just have the correct lighting, so using an external flash, tripod and softbox makes sense…I had to look up the definition of softbox :)

Hey @alexey1976, with your experience, where is most of the money made for professional photographers? For example...Weddings, Family Photos, Professional Models, Nature/City Photography, etc...?

 last year 

I earn money from orders from family photo shoots (both in the studio and outdoors.) I also periodically photograph graduates and make them photo books, as well as children's holidays in kindergartens. I am invited to photograph weddings and birthdays.
I don't know how to make money with nature photography) It may be necessary to work for some magazine, But most likely it will be unrealistically difficult to get there, because they are already cooperating with someone. However, I upload nature photos and other photos to photo banks, where customers from all over the world can buy them. This is Shutterstock, Adobe Stock, istockphoto.com . By the way, he is there and drawings, graphics are also accepted.

"Shutterstock, Adobe Stock, istockphoto.com" I did not know about this...thanks. What about when you do shots with professional models...is there any money in that?

 last year 

Photos of beautiful models always attract customers in social networks) So even if I take pictures for free, it still benefits and expands my portfolio

 last year 

Your post is nominated for the WOX Booming Support Programme, @booming account upvote.
 
Only the posts that are original, not cross-posted and posted from the Xpilar community page are nominated. If your post gets an approval, then you get an upvote within a few days.
 
Good luck! @petface
 
wox.PNG

Nice photographs

I love your handwork

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67104.23
ETH 3509.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21