Creating a short story contest #7 - This is the story about my beautiful "mafia" faced cat named "Tamarind"

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

Hey, how was eveything going to you, steemians?

I hope this post finds you enjoying a relax and happy weekend!

This is my entry for "Creating a short story contest #7"

Today I am writing about my beautiful boy "Tamarind" - a stray cat with the mix of Siberian and Blue Maincoone breed


Tamarind laying in his favourite toy tube

First, how I met Tamarind. While my partner and I traveled to Klaipeda, the only seaport city of Lithuania after I heard about the Nuaras Shelter from my friends. The shelter staffs were rescuing a lot of poor animals and they gave them medical care as well as food.

We just wanted to visit and do some small donations of food to the shelter. We did not have an idea of adopting another animal because we have one female cat at home already. We saw Tamarind playing with the shelter manager and she told me about the poor angry Tamarind that no one wanted to adopt him in two years.

I tried to hug him and he did attack me. He gave me two scratches near my right eye but it was ok. I knew he was scared and he did not trust human. There were a lot of scars on his body because he suffered the human attacks and fights with other animals to survive in the village before he was rescued by the shelter.


Tamarind with his angry face at home first time

His skin condition as well as his digestive system were not good. His ear's edge got damaged. His face has many scars too. I think that's the reason the local people do not want a troubling cat and did not adopt him.

Second part is how we adopt him. My partner and I did not have second thought after we heard about Tamarind. His first attack to me did not make me scare but encourage me to be his better human that never hurt him. We purchased a big cage and signed all paperworks required by the shelter. We did some small donation to their fund and took a train back to our home in Siauliai city

Tamarind had a Lithuanian name "Gremis" given by the nice shelter lady manager. When he was welcomed to our "zoo". My partner, a vegan eater, gave him the name "Tamarind" (a sour plant used for cooking in South East Asian). In fact, my partner did name all our pets with plant-based names :D

It took almost two weeks for him to be friendly to my female cat Puska (tricolor) . He was very very offensive to any thing around him. Now he is the best friend and a nice sibling of Puska and Chia (my tiny dog)

Tamarind's health conditions are better now after some treatments at local vet that we took him to. He now is 6.60 kgs and he is a very smart boy. He always asks for food politely. Specially he never eat his given food if I don't pet him on his head and say "enjoy your meal".


Tamarind asked "did you see the bottom of my bowl?" :DDD

His attitude to human is also better and he let any human visiting me pet him. He does not try to run and hide when we have a visitor like before. He knows that he is protected and loved by his family - his zoo: my partner, I, Puska, and Chia.

To conclude the story today, let me quote a nice phrase of W.D William that I read somewhere: "When I look into the eyes of an animal. I do not see an animal. I see a living being. I see a friend. I feel a soul."

Hope you enjoy Tamarind's story. Have a nice weekend, guys!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Greetings friend @alexbb9700

Interesting story about our little friend Tamarind, who was lucky enough to be adopted by a good human family.

Thank you for your entry to the contest.

Participant #5

Thank you so much for reading my article!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75