You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Engagement Challenge WOX, S10W5: Collage of my Life

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

Regards,

The challenges should be made for all public, to be part of this activity the communities must adapt to standard rules. For example, the Latino community is a community that only accepts content in Spanish or Portuguese, however, when we are part of this activity this rule is made more flexible and we welcome languages not contemplated in the guideline.

In the same way, limiting someone to participate in a contest because of their skills is the same as not accepting content that was not written in the main languages.

In my opinion, WOX participants are being limited through a kind of psychoterror with "constructive" criticism that should be done at a professional level and not at a general level, since not all of them are artists. And I'm not saying it without foundation (the numbers speak for themselves)

My invitation is to create friendlier contests that can be carried out by artists and not artists without complications, otherwise, I think that the implicit rules of inclusion that participating in this initiative requires are not being met.

cc @inspiracion @xpilar @steemcurator01 @karianaporras

Sort:  
 last year 

In the same way, limiting someone to participate in a contest because of their skills is the same as not accepting content that was not written in the main languages.

You can take part in the contest even if you don't know how to draw at all. But you have a desire to participate, to learn something. For training, the organizer made several master classes, lessons, gave links to them, showed examples from recognized artists. A lot of preliminary work has been done to prepare for the organization of this competition.
The organizer expects the same return from the participants (he has the right to do so). And if the participant tries, then he gets high-quality feedback (there was even a separate post for the participant who really tried). If the skills are weak, then the work is not disqualified, it is simply evaluated quite specifically.
Another thing is that the assessment should not have negative connotations, but we are all human beings and it does not always work out. And here I understand the resentment of the participant, but I also understand the emotions of the organizer.

If you perceive constructive criticism as psychoterror... I consider these contests not only as an opportunity to get curators' votes. In art competitions, I see first of all an opportunity for growth for participants. What's the use if my crooked drawing is praised? What conclusions will I draw from this? But if I receive critical comments and advice, then I will be able to take them into account in my future works. And that will be my growth. The only question is my motivation, why do I need these contests, for earnings or for growth.
Imagine a friendlier drawing contest where we will praise everything in a row and say how well done everyone is. Is this going to be a competition? A sad sight that is not even worth attention.
I agree that the form of criticism may be milder, but I repeat, there can be no growth without criticism.
I am fond of photography myself. You can't even imagine how happy I am when I am criticized and even scolded. I reject emotions and try to find my mistakes.

I don't want to convince you of anything or vice versa. It's just my opinion and I may be wrong.
Have a nice day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43