Pareidolic Visions | Experimental Studies

in WORLD OF XPILAR ā€¢ 3 years ago

Hey everyone šŸ‘‹This is Akshata!
In this post, let me acquaint you with one of my crucial ongoing art projects - Pareidolic Visions and its background.

So, whatā€™s Pareidolia?


As defined by various Internet sources-

ā€œPareidolia (Ancient Greek Ļ€Ī±ĻĪ± (para, ā€œalongside, concurrentā€) // Īµį¼“Ī“Ļ‰Ī»ĪæĪ½ (eĆ­dōlon, ā€œimageā€) is a psychological phenomenon where the human mind perceives meaningful shapes like human facial characteristics in random, vague data.ā€


Coinage & History


This term was first introduced as ā€˜Pareidolieā€™ by a German psychiatrist Karl Ludwig Kahlbaum in his articles in 1865(1) and 1866(2). Then, it was translated as ā€˜Pareidoliaā€™ in an 1867 British medical journal article reviewing Dr Kahlbaum article (The Journal of Mental Science, Volume 13)

0C030263-3DEE-42EF-A1F9-11614714AF74.jpeg

One of the most ancient examples of Pareidolia used in Indian Temple Architecture

(source- Wikipedia)


 " "7EC48021-D7E8-48BA-9B6F-26C77BAD6A0C.jpeg""

A swatch noticed during the print making sessions back in the college days.

I wasnā€™t aware of this earlier, though. I brought this info down here from my thesis.
Let alone the coining of the word, I didnā€™t even know such a concept ever existed.
As a child, I used to get haunted and confused by seeing faces emerge out of a random rough texture of a wall, in the clouds, in my closet amidst the pile of clothes, in the shadows - almost anywhere! Gradually, these incidents increased in intensity and now, they have been quite frequent as I have grown fond of them.


Pareidolic Ambiguity in Art

An Undergraduate Empirical research

Being always curious about the unusual, I chose this as my subject for undergrad thesis (circa 2019 in pre-covid era)

0CAD76A1-A974-4B6F-8079-992E529CFBE3.jpeg

A screenshot of one of my Instagramā€™s story highlights. These are my precious ā€˜Pareitifactsā€™ I have been collecting through photos!

Well, honestly, it was difficult to contextualise my findings into a unique, constructive and critical piece of literature!
Still, got to learn a lot! Artists like Salvador Dali, Giuseppe Archimboldo, Nandalal Bose played a vital role in all this.šŸ™šŸ¼

Here is a link to my thesis, if you wish to go through it!


07F59D2F-4372-425C-8741-6D88C862012E.jpeg

Some experiments done engaging basic objective forms like vase, plant, table, fruits, leaves, drawing horse, etc.

So, throughout the process, I simultaneously began my empirical (practical) studies employing several projects and have been continuing till date.

Like the very title suggests, these works explore and interpret the instances of pareidolic perceptions through art.

 " "878C789F-28A2-49E1-A259-EEA769A4758A.jpeg""

Medium ā€“ Graphite Pencil on an old, blotchy paper. This piece is a pure spontaneous creation from random blotches of damaged, old windowpane paper. There is no logical link between the forms.

The most beautiful thing about Pareidolic or any kind of abstract art is that as sentient beings, we get to evolve with the work through time, exposure and experience.

A few older works based on Pareidoliaā€¦

D3334492-7920-455F-A517-996B02ED6892.jpeg

ā€˜The H I D D E Nā€™ - Created using Adobe Fresco
A self-portraited work combining two of my projects (Pareidolic Visions and Self-Face Experiments)

E021FE1A-E626-4889-AD8C-E4B25850B621.jpeg

A detail from the drawing I made on my roomā€™s patchy wall as a result of seepage. There were lots of self-generated forms there.

And one of my best worksā€¦

C32A4DDE-9AC6-46D9-AC9F-9DD46EEE5EBB.jpeg

ā€˜Tuning with the Teaā€™- mixed media on paper

This one isnā€™t particularly based on Pareidolia but it kind of reasonated with the concept and workings. A spontaneous, meditative creation of mine, for which Iā€™ll always be thankful!

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post!

Know more about my research Here
A link to my thesis if you wish to go through it!

Visit Redbubble and Society6 and check out some cool art prints and designs!

Find me on
Instagram
Behance
Twitter*
Love and PeacešŸŒ¼šŸŒ»šŸŒŗšŸµšŸŒøšŸŒ·

IMG_0015.GIF

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63820.95
ETH 2497.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69