Saturday Night OR Honeymoon Palsy? || NO, It's a Study Slump Palsy

Today I woke up very early in the morning because I had to drop my friend at the airport as he was going on a tour of Pakistan. When I returned home I thought about going back to sleep as I was really drowsy, but it was already morning, so it didn't seem worth it. I decided to go to the university instead (a little early than usual). I was quite tired, but I started studying and kept at it with full focus until I began feeling extremely sleepy and getting zone out.

Usually when I get sleepy, I drop everything and just sleep, but as I was reading an important topic and wanted to finish it before I take a pause. I couldn't continue reading, so I put on a video lecture of that topic. Suddenly, I was overcome with sleep and dozed off. My arm was resting on another chair’s back part, causing my armpit to press against the hard surface of that chair.


My Experience with Saturday Night Palsy

About two hours later when I woke up, found that my arm wasn't working normal. I felt like I couldn't move my arm at all. With great difficulty, I used my other hand to move my arm. My fingers wouldn't straighten, and my triceps weren't functioning. It seemed like I had developed Saturday Night Palsy.

1.jpg2.jpg

Pictures clicked by my friend


What is Saturday Night Palsy?

Saturday Night Palsy doesn't only happen on Saturdays, but the chances are higher on Saturdays (as the name suggests) because people tend to be more relaxed, knowing they have a day off. Some go out to bars, drink alcohol and fall into a deep sleep in very awkward positions, leading to compression of the arm or armpit, which compresses the radial nerve. When they regain consciousness, the compressed nerve causes the muscles to stop functioning.

1.webpSource2.jpegSource

Symptoms and Causes

In most cases, the radial nerve in the axilla (armpit) gets compressed, affecting the extension muscles of the hand. This means you can flex your fingers but cannot extend them because the extension muscles are supplied by the radial nerve, which also supplies the triceps.

Another similar syndrome is called Honeymoon Palsy, named for when a partner falls asleep on someone's arm, compressing the nerve. After sleeping for hours, the arm doesn't function upon waking.


My experience continued;

In my case, I hadn't consumed alcohol, nor did I have anyone sleeping on my arm. I was simply so sleepy that I rested my arm on another chair, causing pressure on my armpit. When I woke up, my arm was completely numb, exhibiting similar clinical features to Saturday Night Palsy.

hand 1.jpghand 2.jpg

I managed to get up, washed my face, and went to the canteen. I bought some tea and had sandwiches I had brought from home, enjoying them in the fresh air.

food.jpg


I was tense, wondering when my arm would return to normal. Gradually, over a few hours, sensation started returning to my arm. Fortunately, it wasn't severe, and I didn't need any medication or physical therapy.

3.jpg4.jpg
5.jpg6.jpg

Later, I went outside and found it was drizzling and raining lightly. I enjoyed getting wet in the rain and took some pictures of my university. The rain was so enjoyable that I forgot about the pain and numbness in my arm. I completely forgot about the Saturday Night Palsy and thoroughly enjoyed the moment. This was my first experience with Saturday Night Palsy without alcohol or a partner. HAHAHAHA


@abdu.navi03

Sort:  

This is genuinely one of your best posts. Loved reading about the Saturday night palsy. I had never even heard about it but now I'm thinking I've experienced it a couple of times before. Not that I have consumed alcohol ever but.... can't say for sure about other drugs... 😆😆

ps: @o1eh I think this post deserves some highlights. What do you think?

TEAM 6 : Congratulations!

This post has been curated using steemcurator08. We appreciate your efforts on making quality blogs and post relevant comments. Thank You! 😊

footer.jpg

Curated by : @sofian88

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted with a bonus by @o1eh,
which is a curating account for the WOX Community.

WOX_BONUS_Curation_Trail.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49