Dear Italy... Greetings from Sri Lanka!steemCreated with Sketch.

in Italy4 years ago (edited)
Oh.. Italy, "Mona Lisa.. Mona Lisa.. Loved with all my heart" (මොනලිසා.. මොනලිසා.. මුළු හදින්ම ආදරේ කලා) that was one of a famous song in Sri Lanka some decades ago. I loved it!

image.png
source

source

I didn’t know much about paintings or why Mona Lisa was such famous back then but I got to know about who drew it, the one and only Leonardo da Vinci the GREAT. Oh yes! that guy inspired me a lot as a school kid. Every time I read about him, I was thinking how can a man have such imagination power. I wanted that.. may be his sharp mind were developed through painting. I can paint, that’s what I thought and I tried. Didn’t work to the superhuman extend, but I was able to sketch my crush back then 😊 not a bad skill to have as a teenager.

I watched cartoons even now, well you shouldn’t lose the kid in you ever, I remember watching Astrix without missing one single episode, it was dubbed to Sinhala and cartoon was called සූර පප්පා (Soora Pappa). I can still LMAO to the dialogs they had. From the cartoon we Sri Lankan is very much known to the Rome city, Roman Empire & Julius Caesar.

source

Time went by, I missed painting.. I missed watching cartoons, I had to sit for an exam to continue my higher studies. I selected science as my higher studies for no reason, maybe I had so many motivations from greats such as Da Vinci & Galileo Galilei. Italy can be so proud nation providing such universal genius to the world.

All these are some fascinating childhood memories and it is so wonderful how Italy is connected. Never thought about influence your culture had in us. Hope to visit this great land someday. Thank you @girolamomarotta for refreshing my memories and organizing this interesting contest. And thanks to my Sri Lankan friend @besticofinder & @vishwara for introducing this contest to me. I very much enjoyed it.

#dearitaly #srilanka #italy

Sort:  

Leonardo...born in my same day. And moreover, my first son name 😊

Thanks for these thoughts, they really inspired me! Art and Science are a big part of the italian culture and, even if shortly, you were able to talk with passion about them.

Greetings
Girolamo

#onepercent #italy #italia #affable

Thanks @girolamomarotta I wish to put my son's name also Leonardo 😊 (but that would be little weird in my culture and I probably need permission from my wife as well )

I really enjoyed this initiative you took.

Good luck for this feat!!

I hope your wife will agree, I understand it’s not so usual in your Country, but it’s really a beautiful name ✌️

A big thanks 😊

#onepercent #italy #italia #affable

Wow ! Was a nice read ! Welcome to the steemit !

Thank you for the comment @besticofinder Look forward to having your guidance in this unfamiliar Steem world :)

Ohh great...! Enjoy your time on Steemit! I think this wonderful platform suits your passion of writing.

#onepercent #srilanka

Let's see how it goes :)

This post has been upvoted by @steemcurator06, the account that curates The European Communities with the support of the Steem Community Curation Project.

@girolamomarotta
Italy Country Representative 🇮🇹

Hi,

Your post has been voted on by the Ecosynthesizer curation team.

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


If you would like to support us, please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
joining our Discord server, and delegating to the project by using one of the following links:
500SP | 1000SP | 2000SP | 3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10