Unforgettable Italy, Week 23 - A Venetian fairy tale

in Italy3 years ago

Venice was the first Italian city I visited. It was many years ago (oh, how terribly want to go back there today).

It was half a day, a few hours - the beginning of our trip to four major Italian cities - Venice, Rome, Bologna and Florence.

But those few hours were enough to fall in love with it. And not only that - to fall in love with Italy at all. This city marked the beginning of an endless love. Combining two of my passions and loves in one - my attraction to the sea and my love for architecture.

Because - what other city manages to combine these two things so well and so skillfully?

What other city has such fabulous architecture, the so-called Venetian Gothic architecture?

In what other city is the sea impregnated in the city itself, enveloping it and literally embracing it, so that the city stands in its embrace....?

And now I will admit something personal to you - as a great connoisseur of old Italian cinema, from the beginning of the pandemic until now, the memory of the beautiful film of the brilliant Italian director Luchino Visconti - Death in Venice has taken root in my mind. And its melancholy, these beautiful streets , the beautiful beach, the life of the tourists at that time - all this makes me long even more for this city.

And that's why I recommend this film to anyone who, like me, loves Italy. Because even before I visited this country, I fell in love with it through the films of its wonderful directors - the pompous and rich atmosphere in Visconti's films, the magical world of Fellini's films, Pasolini's strange world, Rossellini's drama, etc.

Ok, enough, this post was supposed to be for Venice. Well, it grew into my endless love for Italy in general.

IMG_3383_contest.jpg

My Camera at that time was Canon DIGITAL IXUS 80 IS and the technical details of this particular photo are:
ISO 80, F-stop f/4.5, Exposure time 1/640

I hope you liked it, and I hope that with my post and this photo of mine I was able to take you for a short moment to this wonderful city!


Thank you for your time! Copyright:@soulsdetour
steem.jpgSoul's Detour is a project started by me years ago when I had a blog about historical and not so popular tourist destinations in Eastern Belgium, West Germany and Luxembourg. Nowadays, this blog no longer exists, but I'm still here - passionate about architecture, art and mysteries and eager to share my discoveries and point of view with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46