UNFORGETTABLE ITALY contest: Week 26 (15% para beneficiar a la comunidad)

in Italy3 years ago
I have traveled the whole world, although I have never left my country. My travels have had as tickets the pages, the letters, the covers of the books, the screens of the monitors. My luggage has always been light: glasses, coffee and a comfortable chair to sit on.

Venecia.jpg

This is how I have known Paris from the hand of Kafka; Colombia of the ink of Gabriel García and Márquez…; and Italy could not be missing from the list, but the ticket was not enough to make a complete tour of the country. So I only stayed in Venice, a privileged place for poets, storytellers and filmmakers.

My tour guide was not an Italian, but a New Yorker named John Berendt.


image.png
Fuente

We both arrived in Venice on January 29, 1996, and we were faced with a scandal that had shocked the entire population: The Fire of the Great Opera House of La Fenice.


image.png
Fuente

My guide was a journalist and had a strong inclination towards investigation; This is how we settled in the canals of the Cannaregio neighborhood, in order to find out why the fire had happened.


image.png
Fuente

There were so many notes that Berendt took that he decided to make a book with them, which he titled "The City of Fallen Angels", which was published in 2011.


image.png
Fuente

Through this book I toured various places in Venice, a place with the smell of the sea, with the color of saffron, with a taste of mollusks, with passages in gondolas. I also had the opportunity to witness family and inheritance conflicts between various families: The Curtis, the Rudges and the Rylands couple, who constantly argued over the Save Venice organization.


image.png

Fuente

Here is a fragment of the work:

To be a Venetian, "said Marcello," you have to know how to live in Venice; and that is quite an art. It is because of our way of living, so different from the rest of the world. Venice was built not only with stone but with a very fine network of words, said and remembered, of stories and legends, of eyewitnesses and hearsay. Working and operating in Venice means above all understanding its differences and the fragile balance of its balance. In Venice we move delicately and in silence. With great subtlety. We are very Byzantine people and that is certainly not something easy to understand.

I'm from Venezuela, which translates to "little Venice." I live in a port town called Carúpano, here we are surrounded by a sea breeze, the sea occupies a large part of the city, the smell of fish is a mist that shelters us. This is what I imagine Venice and its market to be like, like this one in my town:

IMG_20210730_095159.jpg
Foto propia

If you want to participate,here the information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47