Unforgettable Italy Contest: Week 9 – The Colosseum @rosana6

in Italy3 years ago

ALIM0752.JPG

Hi Italy community! I am glad to join the Unforgettable Italy contest created by @girolamomarotta in its 9th week.

A few years ago, I had the joy of knowing the eternal city of Rome, and one of the places that I was most excited to visit was the emblematic Roman Colosseum, the main symbol of the city. I remember that it was already the third day of my trip, I woke up very excited and got ready to have breakfast before leaving for the long-awaited walk. It caught my attention to know this monumental tourist attraction, as it is one of the new Seven Wonders of the modern world, and it was declared a World Heritage Site.

That day I was going with my travel companion on foot from the inn, after several blocks down the street it could be noticed that we were getting closer and closer to the imposing Colosseum, also known as the Flavian Amphitheater, since it was built during the Flavian dynasty. When I entered the Colosseum I was impressed, as it was much bigger than I imagined. There, I took many photos from different angles, while admiring that historic structure, where I learned so many interesting things; from its oldest uses to its current use.

ALIM0838.JPG

The Colosseum was the scene of gladiatorial fights, as well as theatrical plays, animal hunts, and public executions. The enclosure had a capacity for almost 65,000 spectators, and in medieval times it had other uses, it served as a fortress, quarry, refuge and religious headquarters. Currently, the pope performs a Stations of the Cross there every Holy Friday.

During that visit I learned that, in its time, the ancient Roman Empire conquered almost all of the known world, which I found incredible. At the end of the stroll through the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, I returned to the inn, with my camera full of photographs that captured extraordinary moments that also remained etched in my heart.

See you next time with more extraordinary moments from Italy!

separador 3.jpg

Technical Details

Photo 1

Category: Street Photography
Camera: MAXCAM S-10
Aperture: 0.0057 s (1/174)
Shutter Speed: 7.44
Focal length: 5.7
ISO: f/2.9
Flash: NO
Tripod: NO

Photo 2

Category: Street Photography
Camera: MAXCAM S-10
Aperture: 0.0045 s (1/223)
Shutter Speed: 7.8
Focal length: 5.7
ISO: f/2.9
Flash: NO
Tripod: NO

banner steemit.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Gracias por su valioso apoyo, amigos de @R2cornell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64407.71
ETH 3414.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62