UNFORGETTABLE ITALY contest: Week 29 ǀ Sant’Angelo Bridge over the Tiber River

in Italy3 years ago (edited)

Ciao, dear Italy community! I'm excited to join the Unforgettable Italy contest created by @girolamomarotta in its 29th week. A few years ago, I had the joy of visiting Italy, specifically its capital city, Rome. One of the things that caught my attention was the view of the many bridges over the iconic Tiber River.

The photo I am sharing with all of you today was taken during my visit to Castel Sant'Angelo, so this specific bridge, called Sant'Angelo Bridge, is located between the castle and the square. My interest in both the river and the bridge itself, led me to research some interesting facts. I learned that the Tiber is the third longest river in Italy with a length of 405 km. It originates in the Apennine Mountains in the Romagna region and flows into the Tyrrhenian Sea. As it crosses the Ostiense district of Rome, the river divides into two arms, the Isola Sacra to the south and the Fiumicino to the north.

This beautiful bridge, covered in travertine marble, was originally called Pons Aelius, and was built by the Roman Emperor Hadrian. The structure has several sculptures of angels on the sides, which adorn it. From my own experience I can say that every corner of this city has a historical monument, and that makes it very special and unforgettable. I really hope to visit all these places one more time.

The picture was taken by me with my personal camera. Thanks for reading. See you next time!

Technical Details:

Camera: MAXCAM S-10
Resolution: 3648 x 2736
Focal Length: 5.7mm (35mm equivalent 32mm))
Exposure time: 0.0030 s (1/339)
Aperture: f/2.9
ISO: 80

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Thanks a lot for the support! I really appreciate it!

Nice diary from your side keep posting and the picture is beautiful

Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it.

Yes, I'll keep posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60