Unforgettable Italy Contest: Week 13 – Santa Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri @rosana6

in Italy3 years ago

Blessed week Italy community! I have the pleasure to participate once again in the Unforgettable Italy contest, upheld by @girolamomarotta, in its 13th week.

During my journey to the Eternal City of Rome, I visited many beautiful churches and basilicas. The very first day, I had the chance to get to know the basilica Santa Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri, located in the Frigidarium of the Baths of Diocletian, in the Piazza della Repubblica, really close to the inn where I was staying.

I remember that when I was right in front of the church I remarked to my traveling companion that this was one of the churches shown in the famous movie Angels and Demons starring Tom Hanks, in which his character Professor Langdon and an Italian physicist, that was investigating the death of her father, had to confront the powerful Illuminati secret society, while deciphering the enigmas they encountered along the way in order to avoid disaster. Although it seems a silly detail, it made the visit to this beautiful site even more interesting for us.

This striking structure was designed by the Italian Renaissance architect, sculptor and painter Michelangelo in 1562. I learned that the baths, where the basilica is located, were built by Christian slaves, hence the dedication of this church to the martyrs. It is also said that a monk had a vision of the Archangel Uriel there, that is why it is also dedicated to the angels.

I assure you that this is a visit worthwhile. See you guys next time, with more unforgettable moments from marvelous Italy!

Technical Details

Photo 1

Category: Street Photography
Camera: MAXCAM S-10
Aperture: f/2.8
ISO: 80
Flash: NO
Tripod: NO

Photo 2

Category: Street Photography
Camera: MAXCAM S-10
Aperture: f/5.3
ISO: 80
Flash: NO
Tripod: NO

All pictures are my property.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

bel post complimenti!!!

Grazie mille. Saluti! :)

interesante post, hermoso todo de verdad

Saludos! Muchas gracias por tu valoración hacia mi post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56446.21
ETH 2966.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17