2021 starlings and other stories

in Italy3 years ago (edited)

The Best Photo of The Week - starling's feeding

This is my entry for THE BEST PHOTO OF THE WEEK

Birds feeding! This is my new hobby. Well, I work just as an assistant, my babygirl is the boss, she is doing the main job, I just refill food supplies, and carry the bag... with camera and telephoto lens. No kidding! Seriously, recently it was my job almost on a weekly basis. Took a load of photos. . .

Pigeons is my baby's first and top, absolute passion, then come the sparrows and ducks. And recently there showed up a seagull that visit us exactly at home. Fantastic!

2021-jun-5229conv.jpg

So, we often grab a wheat bread, a packet of millet groats (or pearl barley) and head to the local park, where we have a pond with ducks. And there are crowds of other visitors, as well...

2021-may-4665wS.jpg

2021-may-4701wS.jpg

2021-may-4699wS.jpg

Theres a lot of photographers around, too :)))
They came here with same intentions, as us - hunting for ducks.

2021-may-4868wS.jpg

2021-may-4875wS.jpg

2021-may-4936wS.jpg

2021-may-4754w.jpg

I stumbled upon a nice scene - a small club of pigeons decided to take a bath. Luckily, I witnessed the scene and took a dozen of funny captures. This was just the first of them.

2021-jun-5288wS.jpg

Pigeons have a sharp eye when it concerns a food giveaway for free. They come momentarily in huge packs, theres a rivalry, some of them prefer even to walk over other folks heads and backs, to rush closer to the food.

Frankly speaking, I dont like pigeons. But I am not in charge here... (I am only in charge of the camera, to be precise).

2021-jun-5304w.jpg

She is the boss, as I already have mentioned. And she prefers pigeons :P

2021-jun-5319wS.jpg

Aint the duck is smiling at us here? What do you think?

2021-jun-5311wS.jpg

Myself, I feel more fascinated with starlings and sea gulls.

2021-jun-5255wS.jpg

2021-jun-5254w.jpg

2021-jun-5245w.jpg

I have witnessed a splendid scene of feeding, though one naughty pigeon rushed in and tried to spoil my captures. But I've got still enough to illustrate a decent post -- I definitely will tell you this photo story in a separate post. It is worth it.

Ok, thanks for the visit, and next time!

location: St.Petersburg, Russia June 2021 natural lighting
camera/lens: Canon 5D Sigma 150mm raw-conv.

Thanks for visiting my blog!
BLOG is set to 100% powerup, as always.
All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
Sort:  

Ваші фото @qwerrie дуже круті. Я вважаю, що вас недооцінюють тут...

спасибі на доброму слові, Ольга.
що ще тут можна додати.

🙏

Мені надзвичайно прикро, що тут немає справедливого оцінювання. Можливо ви знаєте, чи є системний аккаунт, а можливо чат, де можна висловлювати свої запитання до @steemcurators?

the only place I know, is @steemitblog...
but expressing his / its name should work too,-- sometimes he / it react back and talk. as far as I noticed a few times here and there, in comments section

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94