Unforgettable Italy - Tivoli, Lazio, Italy | club75

in Italy2 years ago (edited)

tivoli.jpg

Tivoli, Lazio, Italy


That photo was made by me in 2013, with my old Canon camera in Tivoli, Lazio. I visited Tivoli while I was spending two weeks in Rome, after recommending that place by my Italian friends - it's very nearby so all you need is a short trip by train.

Like nearly every other location in this magical country, the history of Tivoli reaches ancient times. I had to select only one photo for this contest, but in fact, there are many other amazing places worth visiting there. I described once in this community the Rocca Pia castle, which currently is used as one of the fanciest wedding spots, besides that, you can find here historical fountains, walls, temples, theatre as well as amazing parks, gardens and... the waterfall.

The building captured in my photo is actually the bell tower of San Lorenzo Cathedral - the most important church in the town. It's 45 meters high and even though it was rebuilt in XVIIth century, originally for the first time it was most likely constructed... by Emperor Constantine

I'm not sure if it's possible to enter the tower and see the panoramic view from the top, I was never into that sort of attraction so I didn't try it, but the cathedral per see hides a lot of treasures worth your attention, like the reliquaries and triptychs from the medieval times (XIIth to XIVth century).

About that amazing atmosphere, in general


I do adore that sort of view nearly in any Italian town, sunny evenings (in most cases, that day was quite cloudy, as you can see), people drinking the coffee, not even sitting to take their espresso, talking loudly and using gesticulation to accent the most important part of their speeches, I do love all those Vespas on the streets and dangerous cars (sorry, but the drivers in Italy are not the best in the world, I felt endangered most of the time :P ), all those smells of the delicious food that in the lunchtime comes out from the houses and restaurants, old walls of the buildings and... well, whole that Mediterranean vibe. Every time when I am in Italy, I do feel like I do belong here and, in some way, I do - all the European nations, all our cultural heritage is coming directly from ancient Greece and Rome, isn't it?

I do hope I will have the opportunity to visit all those places again in 2022. I have in my plans coming to Europe in May-July, but with the global pandemic and country borders constantly closed, re-opened, and closed again, I cannot be 100% sure I will be able to make that trip. Fingers closed and hopefully, Tivoli will host @papi.mati soon again!


footage.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted by @italygame witness curation trail


If you like our work and want to support us, please consider to approve our witness




CLICK HERE 👇

Come and visit Italy Community



Hermosa Italia... saludos

Beautiful Tivoli, congratulations for the post, but do you also have a community?

Yes, I do. I'm the admin in Steem-Travelers and moderator in Steem Skillshare. Besides that I'm trying to remain active on a weekly basis in five communities + sometimes visiting other communities and staying for longer when I like it there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79