Italians around the world... "Caffè Caltagirone" the dream of Jana Fontana trapped in time. 2/5

in Italy4 years ago (edited)

Confessions of Jana Fontana, born in the beautiful city of Caltagirone in Sicily ...
“I have seventy years of life, of which I have been living in Venezuela for forty-two years ... I arrived on vacation and decided to stay to start again, it has not been easy, but thank God, my husband Pascual and I, we managed to give our daughters a future. Today our daughters live in Milan". JanaFontana

"The dream of being in Sicily, in the baroque city of Noto, visiting the "Caffè Sicilia" accompanied by an exquisite breakfast with a delicious Cappuccino and a Granita with Almonds
and brioche, or a delicious Sicilian Cannoli with ricotta, or a cake with peaches, or to be able to savor the pistachio nougat, in short ... I live that dream almost every Sunday when I visit the Caffè Caltagirone..." O.M.

_MG4553.jpg

© Om

"Sapri, your memories are still alive in me ... " OM

The portrait as a source of light.
Canon EOS 5D Mark II.
Optical, Canon 35 mm 1: 1.4
Speed ​​1/60. F / 11 aperture.
ISO 100.
An Elinchrom 400v torch. + Elinchron Rotalux light box,

línea verde 2.png

https://www.instagram.com/orlandomonteleone/
https://omonteleone.wixsite.com/photography

etiqueta final 2.png

Sort:  

Its crazy how many Italians went to live in Venezuela. My mother, also from Sicily, did the same thing. She lived in Venezuela for 40 years almost and then, three years ago we moved back to Italy. Not Sicily though. Very beautiful photograph.

It is true, Venezuela and Argentina were the countries of South America where the Italian community settled ... Look at this data taken from wikipedia: "Several Italians dedicated their lives for the independence of Venezuela on the battlefields, like Luigi Santinelli (from Napoli), Bartolomeo Chaves Gandulfo (from Genoa), Carlo Cavalli and Cristòbal Pallavicini (from northern Italy). Some died: Antonio Pareto, probably the first Italian to sacrifice his life for the independence of Venezuela (together with Dr. Antonio Nicolás Briceño formulated and acted on a plan to liberate Venezuela in 1813); Lieutenant Colonel Passoni, fought alongside Bolívar and died in battle on February 16, 1818 (he was the builder of Fort Brión); Manfredo Berzolani, shot by the Spanish army in Valencia on June 10, 1818; Gaetano Cestari, appointed in 1818 lieutenant colonel general adjutant in Angostura, died in combat in the southern campaign; Captain Major Perrego, killed in the battle of La Ga marra, on March 27, 1819 (his name was celebrated by Simón Bolívar himself)".
Incredible when one reviews history a little bit and we see in our ancestors the love they had for Venezuela ...
Greetings friend

that was an intresting information for me, I didnt know that, tho have read a bio of Bolivar, and the history of XIX centure wars in LA. cheers!

#affable #russia

If you should know, i am not a fan of Bolivar at all. Hate his guts a little. I prefer Francisco de Miranda. If you are interested you should read about him. Great man.

well, I am in the know of the Miranda name!
surprised? well, I was a fan of history a while ago...

but the books on XIX century revolutions and LA patriotic wars, I have read a long ago, so I forgot a lot of things. maybe I should refresh my memory abit, reading a short article, agree that would be a good thing. thx for a little reminder!

#affable #russia

Hey, how enjoyable this moment is, when I read you and know that there are always beautiful stories that connect us ... I send you a big greeting and we hope that the history of the land of our ancestors is still present in our memory ... byyy

Wow, that is some very interesting data. I, being venezuelan, did not even know that so many italians contributed in so many battles. Its good to know. Thank you for this, it was very awesome to read about it.

Hey, how enjoyable this moment is, when I read you and know that there are always beautiful stories that connect us ... I send you a big greeting and we hope that the history of the land of our ancestors is still present in our memory ... byyy

This was a very wholesome moment for me! Big greeting to you too.

This was a very
Wholesome moment for me! Big
Greeting to you too.

                 - clacrax


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

lol this was fun and unexpected.

Great! I love it when we all learn a little more ... cheers

 4 years ago 

Esta fotografía es simplemente una locura ... Los detalles y el entorno es casi emocionante ...

Grazie @sardrt per i tuoi bei commenti, lo apprezzo ... da lontano un grande abbraccio

 4 years ago (edited)

Che bella questa foto... ma questo salottino da dove arriva?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57515.20
ETH 2438.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34