I Love Italy: Rome

in Italy4 years ago

Hello, friends of Steemit and Italy

To travel to Italy is practically to see the birth of the Republics in the world. And to travel to Italy and not visit Rome, its capital, is a sin.


However, Rome is very large and cannot be visited in a single day. So in this publication I will make a short tour through some photographs that bring back many memories.

Before I start my memories of Rome there are two things I would like to say. There is a saying that "all roads lead to Rome". This saying has many readings, among which can be found philosophical, social and historical readings. Even more interesting is the daily use of this saying for anyone.

Another detail is the name of the capital of Italy: Rome. For Latinos it is a very special word because read backwards (ROMA in Spanish) is AMOR (Love). Rome is love for the world.

Now you're talking. What places do I love about Rome? Many! The Coliseum, the Roman Forum, the Tiber River, the fountains, Piazza del Popolo, the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, Vatican City, Castel Sant'Angelo and Via Veneto, among many other places.

I have photographs of almost all of Rome. Of the historical areas and the modern areas. Of the trattorias hidden in neighborhoods that I couldn't reach today because I don't remember the addresses. Pictures on the outskirts of Rome where the people who make their living in this great European city live. But I would need several publications to describe each place. Likewise, I needed several days to get to know human Rome.

But for the joy of those who read, I will only make a brief tour, hahahaha

* * *

I suggest to the tourists in Rome to go to the Trevi Fountain. It's a place like no other. But there are many fountains in Rome with very interesting past stories and also with recent stories.

* * *

Another place that has transcended time is the Colosseum. I suggest going with a tourist guide because the information is quite dense. Very close to this place are the Roman Forum and the Arch of Constantine.

* * *

Going to Rome also means visiting the Vatican City which administratively means being in another country. However, that territory was also Rome. Vatican City does not necessarily mean being a believing Catholic. That is a religious place that holds treasures of humanity. True treasures! And I'm not talking about material objects, I'm talking about this humanity talking about the year 2020 and that means accepting that there was a man named Jesus who altered the count of the years.



* * *

To end my brief tour of Rome (in this publication) I will add two places: the via Veneto and the place where the Romans paid homage to Federico Fellini who was one of the most impressive film directors in the world.


* * *

By the way, in via Veneto there are excellent restaurants and cafes! Cheers Rome!

text16.png

This is my second entry to participate in the contest of @italygame "I Love Italy Contest". To know the rules you can go to the following LINK.

Source: Image blog @italygame

* * *

Thank you for your appreciation and your support for this publication.

Welcome your comments
Infinite greetings!

Photos @marcybetancourt
© Marcy Betancourt. All rights reserved

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Thank you very much for your support!

Thanks for your participation in our contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58