Unforgettable Italy Contest: Week 13 –Basilica di San Pietro in Vaticano - @maitt87

in Italy3 years ago (edited)

Hi, how are you #Steemit friends? I'm very happy to join you again in this week #13 of Unforgettable Italy, an initiative created by our friend @girolamomarotta, which seeks to show through a photo everything that reminds us of Italy. If you want to participate, here I will leave you the link with the instructions for this week.

I must say that I have many photographic memories of my trip to the eternal city of Rome, a dream come true, but I must also say that one of the most special visits for me was to St. Peter's Basilica, which is located in the square of the same name and is also considered one of the most sacred temples of Catholicism, and is said to be located on the tomb of the apostle St. Peter. Renowned architects of the stature of Michelangelo, Bernini and Bramante worked on its construction.

St. Peter's Basilica is one of the four major basilicas in Rome; the others are the Archbasilica of St. John Lateran, the Basilica of St. Mary Major and the Basilica of St. Paul Outside the Walls, which I also visited and will tell you about them in due course. The Basilica has a lot of history to tell and many interesting places to see, one that particularly caught my attention was the dome, 45 meters high. The place can be reached by elevator up to a certain point and then by stairs. It is an interesting journey, and it is worth the panoramic view it gives us of the city of Rome.

I remember that inside the Basilica, there were several small chapels where masses were constantly celebrated in Latin, but the main altar was imposing and very beautiful. Another place you can visit there are the papal tombs, where the most visited are the tombs of St. Peter and St. John Paul II.

I liked this place so much that I visited it twice during my stay in Rome and I hope to have the opportunity to visit it again.

Photo 1

Category: Street Photography
Camera: MaxCam S-10
Aperture: f/6.3
Shutter Speed: 862/100
Focal Length: 710/100
ISO: 80
Flash: NO
Tripod: NO

Photo 2

Category: Street Photography
Camera: MaxCam S-10
Aperture: f/5.5
Shutter Speed: 734/100
Focal Length: 570/100
ISO: 80
Flash: NO
Tripod: NO

Sort:  

Great my friend! I get your point, when you visit the beautiful Rome you always want to come back and relive all those nice moments.

Hermoso lugar, me encantaria regresar.... adoro Italia..... Suerte en el concurso.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65