corks appealsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Italy2 months ago

417.jpg

Wine's corks - a simple stuff, but so attractive!

0681.jpgCanon DSLR | lens 50 mm | f3.5 | t 1/50 | ISO 200

This goes as my entry for the week #41 of Photochain Challenge, run by @davidesimoncini. (For more details click the banner below). The current prompt suggested us to find (or create ourself) an image combining 2 keywords: CORK and CIRCLE.

I took a photo of a huge cardboard tubus (it housed a bottle of nice Scottish whickey once upon a time!) which I use now to keep my small stack of corks. Ideal match to the 'circle' prompt - all you see in the frame is circle-shaped, except of my hand of course.

My personal keyword, which I add to the Photochain, will be 'REFLECTION'.


420.jpg

Many people do not throw away a cork after the bottle became empty - it is being added to the previous corks collection; they nor hang the corks on the walls decorating the room outlook; neither place at shelves to impress visitors with amount of consumed wine - as a rule, they stack the corks in a bag or box in a dark corner of a closet. Looks like it is simply the stuff folks tend not to part easily.

438.jpg

So, what is the appeal of wine corks?.. I have a guess on this matter.

416.jpg

In some cases of course it may be exactly boasting ...

434.jpg

In others it may be a reminder about some special wine editions or memorable events. But that is an unlikely speculation - and it especially poorly explains the typical case when all corks are stored, not just the special / memorable ones.

435.jpg

Also, speaking about me personally, I do not distinguish one cork from another after a few weeks have passed, do not remember certain bottles at all; for me, these corks do not work as a reminder at all (unlike photographs!).

Please note that not all plugs are created equal...cheap screw plugs or synthetic plastic ones don't bother me at all; banal corks made of pressed-glued cork chips, without identifying logos and inscriptions, are pleasing to a small extent. (This is where I get to within arm's length of you about which corks are "better" for wine, and whether a cheap cork signals simplicity and unpretentiousness to the wine... but that's a topic for another blog).

My explanation is a vague feeling, based on the impression that corks are not just bottle caps, but rather more - they became a part of the wine ritual; we preserve corks as a memory of our past, as a trace of our personal wine history! material artifact, like a skin of killed animals or antlers which hunters used to decorate their living rooms hundred years ago.


photochain.jpg

Count this as an advertisement, and join the challenge - it is a lot of fun! and a chance to win STEEM.


100% SP (manual translation to SP)

Thank you to all curators for support!

Sort:  

I don't drink wine very much. 4 maybe 5 glasses a year during special occasions. So I wouldn't know much about saving wine corks after use. But based on what you wrote I agree with you

they became a part of the wine ritual; we preserve corks as a memory of our past, as a trace of our personal wine history!

Great advertisement for PhotoChain. I am sure @davidesimoncini would be very pleased.

I subscribe: very pleased :)

I liked corks, many of the photos here are very suitable as background images. I imagine them on a brochure, flyer or on a website.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70