Let's start gardening

in Italylast year


Hello dear friends of this community!


In these spring days, with the weather getting milder and temperatures reaching 18 degrees Celsius, I have been preparing the soil for sowing my favourite vegetables: salad and rocket.

Salad is a versatile and tasty vegetable that we usually eat for lunch and dinner. I love its fresh and crunchy taste.

But the real surprise was the planting of rocket. This herbaceous plant, typical of Italian cuisine, has leaves with a slightly bitter and spicy flavour, which add an extra touch to salads. Personally, I also often use it to make pesto, substituting basil for rocket for a surprisingly delicious result.

I can't wait for these plants to grow and develop, showing all their beauty and vitality. I am sure that my spring garden will be a real feast for the eyes and palate, and I look forward to sharing my garden adventures with you.




The first thing I did before starting the work was to pull out my boots and gloves, and I started pulling out weeds from the ground to prepare it for planting. In fact, it's essential to remove any type of weed, so that it won't grow where I'll plant my lettuce and arugula.




After completing this task, I used a manual tool to turn the soil. I never bought anything mechanical because I don't have a lot of land to make a garden, so this tool is enough for me.



After turning the soil, I used a rake to break up the clumps and even out the ground, preparing it for the seeds. But before spreading the seeds, my father taught me to wet the soil, so that the seed will fall a few millimeters under the ground.




Then, after sowing, I covered it with a thin layer of soil. It's important not to overdo it because the plant won't be able to grow, and then I used another tool to flatten the ground again, so that the seeds are buried well. Otherwise, the many birds that fly around my house will eat them.



After doing this, the last operation is to give them water, so I watered the soil generously so that the seeds I planted can soak up the water. In a future post, I will also update you on how the growth of these herbaceous plants is progressing. And then when I harvest them, I will show you how I use them, and maybe you can share with me how you use them in your country.




In the last photos, I'll show you a bit of my garden around the house that I've started to arrange in these days. As you can see, it's not very big because I have a townhouse, and let's say that the standard of gardens in Italy is much larger, but I prefer it this small so that it's also more eco-friendly. In fact, I will show you later that I use water that comes from a well where wastewater is discarded because unfortunately, the absurd thing in Italy is that drinking water is used to water gardens, which is a waste that I find unsustainable, especially during this drought period that's affecting Italy.




Thank you for reading this post until the end. See you at the next one where I will update you on my garden situation. I hope you enjoyed this post, which was a bit different from usual. Until next time!



Black Modern Blogger YouTube Channel Art.jpg

kisspng-youtube-computer-icons-social-media-logo-5b2fd5dd01f286.854714911529861597008 (1).jpg

Sort:  

Bellissimo questo post. Ultimamente anch’io sto facendo dei pensieri verdi, ma devo dire che purtroppo il tempo è zero. Forse tra qualche anno potrò permettermi di lavorare di meno e allora potrei iniziare anch’io la mia avventura verde

Idem pure su questo fronte. E non ho neppure il tempo di andare a comprare i vasi con la terra (il mio cortile, benchè enorme, è ricoperto tutto da cemento), purtroppo...

This post has been upvoted by @italygame witness curation trail


If you like our work and want to support us, please consider to approve our witness




CLICK HERE 👇

Come and visit Italy Community



Hi @hotspotitaly,
my name is @ilnegro and I voted your post using steem-fanbase.com.

Come and visit Italy Community

Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @petface

TEAM 4 CURATORS

Che begli appezzamenti di terreno per farci l'orto!

 last year 

Che soddisfazione sarà quando mangerai le tue insalatine!
Anch'io l'estate pianto qualcosa, fortunatamente pomodori e insalata crescono con facilità anche a me che non sono esperta! :-)))

si non sono bravissimo ma ci provo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44