I love Italy: ✨ Magnificent Firenze ✨

in Italy4 years ago

As an argentinian, there are many cultures from my country that have been influenced by italians, that great people that came to my country looking for new opportunities after the war and trying to start from scratch. It is the case of my four grandparents, two of them came from Formia and the other two from Firenze.

My name is Florencia, which is the spanish translation for Firenze. In fact, when travelling and there's people from other countries that don't understand how to say my name, I always end up saying "Do you know Florence in Italy? Well, pretty much like that!". There was no way I was travelling across Europe and I wouldn't go there!

I never called my grandmother as grandma or "abuela" (in spanish)... I always refer to them as nonna. I love that word, it just brings me the most beautiful memories of my childhood: huge meals on a Sunday, my nonna cooking so many dishes for us, her perfect pasta and her unconditional love. Ok, this is just me getting twisted between reminiscences... let's get back to Firenze!


What's not to love about it?

It's amazing architechture is simply breathtaking. My favourite building is by far il doumo di Firenze! I had booked a hotel that was 100m away from it and one day I decided to wake up incredibly early just to get a picture of it without people. It was totally worth it!

Those streets full of art, great cuisine and loving people are the best combination for this incredible city. I wish to be able to walk in those streets once again! But it wasn't just that...

... it was more about the feeling of being at home. Feeling that you're connecting with the place in which members of your family grew in and walked those same streets when they were young. I wish I had the chance to be there with my nonna and nonno, but I knew deep inside me that their soul was sharing those moments with me. It was such a fulfilling feeling, I felt so at home in a place I had never been in that it was magical.
I regret not having better pictures of this trip, but everything was so crowded at every time of the day! This is a great excuse to go back there again! Hahah



Ah... beautiful Ponte Vecchio! One of the things I like the most about getting to know new places is just to sit somewhere and observe, be present in the landscape. Just letting my toughts wander and enjoying everything as much as I can. Firenze has this beautiful romantic and renaissance view that makes everything magical.

This has been a great chance for me to keep in touch with my italian heritage. Thank you for this beuatiful contest, specially for giving us the chance to share our stories! I'll do another post if I can gather some more pictures of that trip, I had my phone stolen a couple of years ago and I lost lots of them...

Sort:  

Firenze is fantastic indeed, and as you said magical and romantic

It sure is!! :)

I love Florence too! Una pubblicazione bellissima

Thanks a lot!! :)

Thanks for your participation in our contest! Yet another beautiful testimony!

Thank you for bringing this contest, it's really nice to know the stories of other people as well! :)

Stupenda Firenze,spero di tornarci presto!ho visto quasi tutto tranne il David di Michelangelo😌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84