Dear Italy... Greetings from Sri Lanka !steemCreated with Sketch.

in Italy4 years ago (edited)

Dear Italy... Greetings from Sri Lanka !

Hello Friends ,
It's @besticofider here.. I'm writing this post as a reply to the event Dear World 🌍: Taking Communities and Country Representatives to the Next Level by @girolamomarotta.

Okey today I'm going to share my memories in my visit to Italy.. exactly 12 years ago. It was a great thing for me to re memorize this wonderful journey.

image.png

Sri Lanka to Italy
It was the year 2008. I was a baseball player from the age of 14 years .. I continued playing for my school baseball team and selected to Sri Lankan national baseball team in the year of 2008. So I got the oppertunity to visit Italy to take part in Youth Baseball Championship. It was a 3 week visit and there was no direct flights to Italy from Sri Lanka at that time. First we arrived Rome. And it was morning when we arrive. And there was a member of organizing team to welcome us.

image.png

Baseball
Every thing was well organized. We had two teams under 13 team and under 17 team. So there were 36 players .. 18 each. And we had 5 officials .. managers , coaches and our doctor. So the tournaments for 2 teams were at two different places. They had organized the accommodations for my team at a town called "Chieti" and there was a perfectly maintained hostel. And it was facing the baseball ground. Everything was perfectly arranged .. all the facilities were there and the meals were amazing. I spent around 3 weeks in Italy. Played 4 games .. with England , Slovakia , Italy and Chinese Taipei. We won 2 of them .. with England and Italy .. so didn't quali9fied to final round. And I got the oppertunity to visit lot of places around Italy .. we had a bus provided for our team and for some places we used the train. It was a wonderful memory for me to visit Italy . Country is really beautiful .. and can't forget grapes farms .. and people were really nice and friendly.

And lot of sri lankans working there came to see us after they got the news that sri lankan baseball team is there.. they brought lot of sweets as were we little kids . They were really happy to see us and waited hours talking to us , supporting us and cheering the games.

Visit to Italy is a beautiful memory in my life. I will sure visit again. I got lot of things to watch which I missed.

Thank you very much for organizing this event. Specially to @girolamomarotta.

ciao !

#dearitaly #srilanka #italy

Sort:  
 4 years ago (edited)

We are not so strong playing baseball, that was Dear USA... 😄
Incredible you came to Italy for this reason, I would never imagine that.

Really a big thanks for this contribution.
Your post is sincere and passionate, exactly the spirit we are searching for this initiative.

I’ve upvoted you with the @top.rewards.club, @italygame and @symbionts trails.
And I hope @steemcurator01 check and upvote your post.

Great job, thanks again 👍✌️

#twopercent #italy #italia #affable

Thank you very much !

WoW! @besticofinder, you had a wonderful experience related to sports.
I am glad that you liked my country and that you felt welcomed.
Unfortunately, baseball doesn't have the same following here as soccer, and that goes for many other sports but Italians have soccer games in their DNA. 😂
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful memory with us.

Thanks for going through my post .. true soccer is in your DNA 😂😂😂 you guys are the best in the world for that ..

 4 years ago 

Thanks a lot for your super post!

Wow!
What a beautiful experience with a great profession.

Yeah .. it was a wonderful experience

Hi,

Your post has been voted on by the Ecosynthesizer curation team.

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


If you would like to support us, please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
joining our Discord server, and delegating to the project by using one of the following links:
500SP | 1000SP | 2000SP | 3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59358.13
ETH 2471.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45