DIARY GAME: 23/12/2020 - Clearing my backyard gardensteemCreated with Sketch.

in Italy4 years ago

IMG-20201223-WA0021.jpg
clearing my backyard garden

Gone are the days when my family depended on subsistence farming for a living. we cultivated mainly maize, cassava and cocoyam for food. We then mixed it up with pepper and okro which were planted on and around anthills in the farm.

On harvesting seasons, we harvested the maize and stored them on barns in their husks at the kitchen where smoke could dry them more and keep all insects dead for long period storages.

The cassavas were harvested as and when we needed some for food and for sale. The pepper and okro were planted to further reduce market expenditure.

Growing up, I culvated the habit of planting vegetables at the backyard for food. My greatest motivation was during germination when fresh seedlings spring up. I so much admired such early stages of the crops and during flowering stage as well. These always motivated to plant vegetables.

Today, I am no longer a dependent on subsistence farming for a living as my parents gave me the best of education. I am secondary school teacher and currently pursuing my doctorate degree at the University of Ghana, West Africa. I aspire to be university lecturer.

However, I still remember the good old days when I made backyard vegetable farm. I have therefore cultivated a small backyard farm where I pick most vegetables and plantain for food.

IMG-20201223-WA0047.jpg
my backyard farm

Aside being economical, backyard farms produce healthy vegetables that are good for healthy living since the crops are devoid of chemicals and inorganic manures that can create health and environmental problems. The danger of eating contaminated vegetables and food stuffs are
greatly checked against.

It is ideal to have backyard farms to keep us health even as we exercise our body through clearing the small weeds that grow in them and watering the crops. Any small space is put into good use in my community.

I save about US$60 (GH¢300) yearly due to backyard farms.
Start today and save more.

Warmest greetings to all Steem Community members
IMG-20201223-WA0034.jpg

Sort:  

“This post has been rewarded by @oppongk from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44