The Diary Game 09/05/2021. Google Photos is no longer free from June 1

in Italy3 years ago

IMG_3708 (2).jpg

If you use Google Photos, it is good to know now that from June 1, 2021 the storage space is no longer unlimited and free, but limited to 15 GB and you can pay for more.


Google announced this change about a year ago, and if you don't want to continue using their service, you should take the necessary action now in May. Also, keep in mind that all photos uploaded so far, when everything is free in the High Quality setting, are still available in Photos, no matter how much space they currently consume. Only photos and videos uploaded after June 1 will count for the 15 GB space offered for free or other paid space.

I will continue with Google Photos, because it is better than anything else on the market for what I need. I don't mind him not offering it completely free. I do not claim that very good services are offered for free, that Google does not owe me anything. If they are free, very good! If not, consider whether it is worth the money; in the case of Photos, it's worth it. The decision to continue was easy for me because for about three years I was paying Google One for 100 GB of storage space, an annual subscription, and those also apply in Photos. So, in fact, I will not pay anything extra on June 1, 2021 and the Google One offer is very competitive.

A quick recap of why I use Google Photos:


  • Automatic cloud backup of photos from your phone and computers.

  • excellent search in images. Photos has a super-advanced image recognition algorithm and this allows me to quickly find photos I've been looking for in the past. I can search for things like "pizza barcelona" for all the pizza photos taken in Barcelona. At one point I was looking for a "van" because I wanted a photo of a van photographed many months ago; he showed me about sixty images with vans in them, some in the background or in the corner, and I immediately found the one I was looking for. She does just as well with people and animals, you can find all the photos with grandma very quickly.

  • shared albums, share quickly with other people because almost everyone has a Google account, ecc.



Theoretically, they also have a better photo-video editor, but I prefer Snapseed.









But if you want to give up Google Photos, export your photos as a backup from now on, there is also a function for that in Settings. Here are some ideas for alternatives. Keep in mind that my opinion of them is very subjective; I really like Google Photos, I consider it superior to the competition, so I'm not satisfied with any alternative.






GOOGLE PHOTOS






Huh? Well, yes, it will still be free up to 15 GB of photos. Many people, if they don't take many photos, will fill this space only in many months or even years. In terms of High Quality, the photo is compressed with an unnecessary loss of quality anyway. My phone generates JPEG photos of about 3-4 MB each. Google Photos turns them into photos of 1-1.5 MB each. The 15 GB could be enough for a few thousand photos uploaded after June 1.





As the changes take effect on June 1, until then you can upload all your photos to Google Photos and they will not be counted after June 1. Some files were counted before, such as videos that were too large or could not be processed; you can find them through the Photos settings and delete them if they are not important.

Here's my only problem with Google: it's very difficult to find which files are counted in storage and where they are, in order to delete them; the interface for such a thing is very weak. If you already have Google One, it's easier with this page. And if you want to pay for extra space, the service is called Google One. I give about $ 20 / year for 100 GB. The price offer is very competitive, if you really need it.



Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Non lo uso.....non lo so proprio usare. Preferisco perdere le foto ...Sarebbe utile un tool...

 3 years ago 

è facilissimo.

 3 years ago (edited)

e..ma così è meglio!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78