My trips around Italy from north to south. Murano Island.

in Italy3 years ago

DSCN0039551.jpg

Another destination we visited on our trip through Venice is the island of Murano.


The reputation of this island comes from the fact that here are the most important producers of glass handicrafts. I really can't say that it is a "must visit", it has a special charm, it is interesting as an island, but I can't say that I was turned away from what I found.


Before arriving on the island, I also did a Google search to see what is worth visiting and to find out some basic things about the island. The island, although it has a fairly old history, became famous only in 1291, when all the glassmakers in Venice were moved to this island to reduce the danger of fire in Venice. At that time the vast majority of houses were built of wood and, implicitly, there was a very high probability of such fires occurring. Good…, and here we are on the island, through the vaporetto station "Colonna" in the immediate vicinity of the square "Piazzale de la Colonna". We said to start from this place because here is the CAM glass factory. From the recommendations on the net I chose this option because the factory was highly praised.

DSCN0082699.jpg

Ok… but when we enter to visit the factory, the whole crowd of people who are more and more agitated… to come in to visit, pictures, souvenirs… those. No brother, I said no. I really don't like to go with the wind, I like to go in to sit relaxed, to admire, to ask one or two questions… one more picture… one more filming, so I made my way back and never entered. I admit, I usually enter the places where it is forbidden to take pictures with the crowd and I usually wait for a group of Asians to come. No one stops them from taking pictures. :))

From the landing on the vaporetto we were greeted by a large number of stalls, which offered all kinds of souvenirs under the logo of the island of Murano. I thought that maybe that place was, in fact, a small market and the island is not so commercial. Yeah Al that sounds pretty crap to me, Looks like BT aint for me either.

DSCN0022834.jpg

Slightly overwhelmed by what we found at the entrance to the island, we decided to take a walk and set off on the "Rio dei Vetrai", the famous Murano canal, on which the oldest Murano houses are built. Nice, I can't say no, old houses, many built in the 14th - 15th centuries, very interesting, and I kept wondering how they lasted so long without being affected by the surrounding water. But in almost every house there was a shop open, of course with souvenirs. We also wanted to buy souvenirs, but what to choose from?!. I mean, a sophisticated chandelier would jump out of your head just to count his arms, then you have nowhere to mount it, only if you had a palace at home or donated it to a church. Yes, really very well done, but I don't see the point. Maybe if Gigi takes a tour of Murano, he'll be super excited and find souvenirs, but we won't. How, which Gigi? The one with the palace, the donations to the church and the crowd of carolers at the gate on the eve of Christmas... a very dear friend of ours :)

DSCN0014467.jpg

What should I buy? Candy made of glass? Well, noah… it seems like kitsch to me and in addition I wake up drowsy at night to drink water and if I look at the nightstand and see the candy on display maybe I forget that it's made of glass and I still break all my teeth :)). I really couldn't buy that. And what else were on sale? Dice :)) See me playing backgammon with Murano dice.



What's more painful when you visit "souvenir shops"? Everywhere there is a banner with lame letters, scratching your eyes, with "No Photo". I think they put up this ad so they wouldn't be able to let other people know about the kitsch you find in their store. I really can't find another explanation.



After so many walks through Murano we said that it would be good to stop at a restaurant (tratoria) to have a meal, but our enthusiasm was cut off from the entrance. I really can't admit the fact that it forces you to pay between 4-5 euros / person just because you sit at the table. Sounds like a highway robbery to me. I'm not a poor guy, but I really can't make fun of the money I earn. All my friends told me that I only get to Murano once. Yes, indeed once I arrive, but even then to be stolen on the face with their gimmicks. I prefer to choose the sliced ​​pizza option on the corner :)

However, if you want to visit this island and after reading this article I recommend you to use the initial route established by us which was identical to the one presented on the website of the City Hall of Venice, but which underwent major changes on the spot.


Recommended route for Murano



DSCN0079264.jpg

On the way to the lighthouse on the island we managed to enter a workshop that was not open to visitors and we were pleasantly surprised by their way of working. Eventually we reached the lighthouse on the island of Murano, from where we took the vaporetto to the next island… Burano.


Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Mi hai fatto ridere...ma hai ragione: le caramelle di Murano sono pericolosissime....!

 3 years ago 

scherzi...

Complimenti per le tue foto! Sono davvero bellissime😍

 3 years ago 

grazie mille.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65