Where the fortress loves the sky

in TravelFeed3 years ago

It's autumn. The sun is shining, clouds have covered some parts of the sky. The mountain top merges with the sky, and around me is a beautiful autumn landscape. The top of the mountain is decorated with a beautiful building. I had to visit the Stalac fortress. Many have not heard of her, neither have I. I went on a longer trip, I am slowly but surely touring Serbia, and every time I go on a trip like this I learn something new.

DSC_0143.JPG

DSC_0151.JPG

Fortress

In the municipality of Ćićevac, near Stalac, there is a medieval fortress Stalac. The building is located on the slopes of the Mojsinj Mountains, which numbered 70 Serbian monasteries and churches.

Today, this fortress consists of the remains of a dungeon and hence the name Todor's Tower. Only one well-preserved wall remains of the tower. The fortress was built on the remains of an ancient city by Prince Lazar Hrebljanović in the 14th century.

Todor from Stalac and his love Jelica decided to jump to South Morava in order to escape from the Turks. South Morava then flowed under the tower. According to the legend, the Turks managed to enter the city following the geese that came out through a hidden hole in the wall around the tower.

DSC_0159.JPG

DSC_0184.JPG

An initiative and fundraising for the reconstruction of the fortress was launched. It would take place in several stages:

  • The first phase - the erection of a monument to Jelica and Duke Prijezda, as well as the renovation of the dungeon tower
  • The second phase - the reconstruction of the Small Town which is connected to the tower
  • The third phase - the reconstruction of the fortress as a whole

The fortress occupies four hectares of land. The association of citizens Todor od Stalaća deserves credit for this movement.

source

DSC_0183.JPG

DSC_0188.JPG

Next to the fortress there is a cute house. it looks interesting and fits into the ambience, I would say it is new construction, and it was not there. I visited it from all sides and I could not determine what it was. Maybe it's a gift shop. I'm not sure what it is, but it has no history. I tried to find it, because I didn't have a guide at the time, I would say it doesn't exist, because the entrance fee is not paid.

DSC_0148.JPG

I also saw this lonely tree surrounded by benches. It's a real paradise there, and it can hang out nicely, because it's peaceful, it's great for having a picnic, but not now, unfortunately. A cold wind was blowing, but fortunately it was not raining, so the weather was great.

DSC_0153.JPG

Looks like someone got along really well. I would also like to make a barbecue like this with my friends. At the top of the mountain, overlooking a beautiful landscape with fresh mountain air where there is no one anywhere. It would be crazy :D

YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQCEHAD6Vp3osEkdojpvPcCq6h1xChwiQTuAzmrXiW4BRc91hHiJ3TeUe5LsGQHGAJgvG2fPoRBPriJrJGp6uBcnFGTZ66YNfte9odG1PwgQFKJLfrbJuxz.png

I hope you enjoyed this post. I enjoyed making it and sharing it with you fulfills me in a way. Greetings until the next post. I wish you a lot of love and happiness, Sara.

𝓦𝓲𝓽𝓱 𝓵𝓸𝓿𝓮, 𝓢𝓪𝓻𝓪𝓱❤️

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing the pics and story of the medieval fortress you visited. You're always going to cool places! :)

You're welcome, thank you for visiting every location with me.

It seems that I am destined to have only winter around me :D

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40