Giro Riddance Cycling Shoes - My Take

in TravelFeed3 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience

Giro Riddance Cycling Shoes - Red
Giro Riddance Cycling Shoes - Red

So if you’re like me and was wondering why it seems you can’t get a good grip on your pedals or why it seems you’re not getting enough power when pedaling (other than technique) then I may have the answer for you.

To help me with my problem, I had already switched my pedals to Race Face Chesters (red). These have removeable metal pins to better grip your shoes. These helped a lot but I felt there was something still lacking. My feet still slipped, occasionally, off the pedals when I know that they shouldn’t have. If you’re worried about getting hurt by the metal pins, your concerns are warranted. I have the scars on my calves to prove it. Fret not, you can get pedals with plastic “pins” that’ll do the job (and are less sharp). Pedal with pins are way better than stock pedals unless of course your bike is a top end, high spec bike, those don’t come with pedals, haha. 

The constant slippage, led me to look at the bottom of my shoes, which are Nike runners (picture below).

My Nike runners
My Nike runners

You can see the damage the metal pins on the pedals did to the bottom of the shoes (picture below). Even more concerning is the gaps in the treads. No wonder I can’t get good grip! I need something better so off to Google search! I found a bunch of cycling specific shoes (not just the clipless ones) which had me questioning why are there even special shoes for mountain biking.

See all those gouges from the pedal pins?!
See all those gouges from the pedal pins?!

So I decided there must be a reason that I don't know about (I didn't even know they existed in the first place, haha). I finally decided on Giro shoes since my gloves and helmet are of the same brand and I like the quality a lot. The only ones I could find in my size and a color that I liked were the Riddance model. So I ordered them.

The first think you’ll notice when wearing these shoes is just how rigid the soles are. Granted, I’ve only had the time to ride with them a few times but there’s no damage to the soles. Maybe after some more rides? The rigidness of the soles makes walking really weird but not uncomfortable, if that makes sense.

The sole of the Giro Riddance. Doesn’t look grippy but it is!
The sole of the Giro Riddance. Doesn't look grippy but it is!

The material of the rest of the shoe feels sturdy and supposedly water resistant, I haven’t had the chance to test that out yet. They feel comfortable when riding in them even though they are a size 10, my regular shoes are 9 ½. My socks weren’t drenched in sweat but neither were they when wearing my Nike’s.

The biggest thing for me is the change in pedaling power. I noticed it right away. No more springy pedaling feeling from the soft soles of my Nike’s. These Giro Riddance biking shoes felt like part of the pedal. I couldn’t feel any softness at all! Even my riding buddies were asking why I had so much energy despite going up the usual hills we ride. I didn’t have to adjust my feet at all, at any time, due to slipping or small bumps and when I did have to reposition, it was after large bumps. To reposition I had to get my foot off the pedal with these shoes, unlike with my Nike's I just need to slide my feet until I got to where it felt right.

If you are skeptical about the impact of riding shoes on your pedaling, (like I was), you should get a pair. I firmly believe that you’ll be a skeptic no more! I guess there is a legit reason why they have cycling specific shoes in the first place, lol.

Here's some more pictures:

Right side
Right side

Rear view
Rear view

Left side
Left side

All the photos (unless otherwise noted in the post) were taken by me and are available for sale. If you're interested in buying an image or three, please don't hesitate to contact me for more details. Thanks in advance!

Comments & Critiques are always welcome. As are upvotes and resteems, if you like what you see.

Thanks for viewing and best wishes,

Ray

PS. If you want to check out my other 'works', you can find them here:

Let's hear about *YOUR* travel adventures. Click the banner to join me on Travel Feed ! Click here to read some awesome content on the TravelFeed platform

View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations @rayshiuimages! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90