Geneva in Summer 2019

in TravelFeed4 years ago

gen1.jpg
Photo is mine

Like the rest of the world I have been on lockdown since March. I understand why. I am not complaining. But quite frequently I find myself thinking about my past travels either on some highway road trip or in this case, long distance... on a plane. (Yes, I said it! Plane). Last summer I travelled to Geneva to our Webster University Campus to present at their annual creativity week. The price and timing were just right so my wife and I made an "us two" trip of it. Needless to say, we LOVE Geneva! We spent a lot of time traveling around the main thoroughfare at Cornavain.

We took lots of pictures of the ducks in the various idyllic waterways. Geneva is one of the most beautiful places to visit. And although it is up there in Austria, it did not feel rushed or congested. We loved the public tram and bus systems and got around quite a bit.

gen2.jpg
Duck Photos Courtesy of my Google Pixel 4

We also took the time to visit the UN and take some photos of a number of memorials. The two that stand out for me even still are the memorials depicting the Rwandan Genocide and the war in Bosnia Herzegovina. Like all great tragedies, we have to remember these so that we do not repeat them.

bosnia-mem.jpg
Bosnia Memorial at UN Plaza

rwanda-me.jpg
Rwanda Memorial at UN Plaza

Of course as with all field trips and vacations, one must talk about the food.
We found that the international fare in Geneva is commendable. We tried Mediterranean, Thai and Chinese. And of course we stayed with the plant based options. The food there is international and tasty.

parfum.jpg
Finishing a meal of Falafel at Perfum de Beyruth

You can tell the meal was good. There wasn't anything left....

parfum2.jpg

Overall we had a great time!
We miss travelling in these COVID times. So we can live vicariously from the photos....

Thanks for indulging.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50