Thursday Throwback at Maryknoll

in TravelFeedlast year

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience

I was browsing through my photos looking for what to post here and saw these taken at Maryknoll Ecological Sanctuary, so I decided to have a throwback.

These are some photos that I haven't posted yet during our last visit there.

For more reading, you can check out these previous posts

Journey through Maryknoll Ecological Sanctuary

Earth House at Maryknoll Ecological Sanctuary

Amazing Nature at Maryknoll Ecological Sanctuary

Visiting Maryknoll is an adventure and discovery. There are so much to see there from small things to tall ones. You just have to be curious enough and interested enough.

Red passion flower adorns one entrance to the garden. That's one scarlet welcome for you.

I'm not sure if this is golden shower tree.  I saw this growing near the huts.

Princess flowers growing beside the staff house. I like how the sun lights the outline of these flowers.

Right away, flowers are that noticeable for they are the first that greet you and then they also grow here and there along the path as you explore further the garden.

Even though most are not yet in bloom but there are still enough flowers adoring the place.

We have these tiny ones growing on the ground. I have to crouch low to take photos of them. They grow as high as they can from the ground. It's like calling you to take notice of them.

I remember having this in our yard back home before. Yellow Walking Iris according to Google or Hand of God. I wonder if it really walks or where was the hand?

You can check this site if you are interested.

>In fact they get the name from the propagation method. When the flowers fade plantlets (baby plants) develop on extended stems and become heavy as they grow older only to be pushed down to the ground. Then they root into the soil and grow as independent plants. The domino effect follows resulting in more adjoining area being colonised. This is how the Walking Iris plants “walk” through the landscape.

Nature is really interesting the way they grow.

Trumpet vine or lady's slipper vine hangs along the path too. They grow near where I took photo of the walking iris above.

Pine trees and bamboos dominate the trees that grow within the property. There are some fruit-bearing ones that I saw there because they have fruits at that time.

Citrus and coffee - none of which were ripe though at that time.  I wonder if they grow enough coffee there.  I haven't seen that much.

Lichens and mosses add to the landscape. They carpet the ground and trees.

The pattern on this leaf caught my attention. I'm not sure if it was a leaf of Birds of Paradise.

These are just some of the creatures there that I was able to capture. Mostly are too quick for me to take a photo of.

Finally, featuring the bridge again before ending this Thursday Throwback at Maryknoll.

Maryknoll is located at 25 Sto. Tomas North Rd, Campo Sioco, Baguio City, Philippines.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  
 last year 

Congratulations @leeart! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86