Wat Pha Si Rattana Mahathat Temple - Central Thailand

in TravelFeed4 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


My last visit to Thailand gave me opportunity to see many places as we travel the country after my Mother's ceremony. Our hearts were saddened and family gave each other strength. We had a desire to travel and see many places in-country we had not seen in a long time.

There are so many wonderful and beautiful Temples in Thailand. But there are few to me that are "must visits" if you are in the area. For me, Wat Pha Si Rattana Mahathat Temple int the Phitsanulok Province in Central Thailand is one of those places.

Maybe it was just the time. Maybe it was the feeling that my Mother was close or the kindness of the Monks, or maybe all of it.

temple-1 copy.a76ef047d8d24c03823acdf41c4ee7c8.jpg
Looking back on my photos brought me back to those feelings. The Temple is simply beautiful. It was founded back in 1357 by King Lithai of Sukhothai. Many Kings over the years have added to this Temple and today it is very well known for it large "gold-covered Buddha" statue which is considered to be the most beautiful statue of Buddha in Thailand.
statuemonk-2.a76ef047d8d24c03823acdf41c4ee7c8.jpg
It's easy to see the beauty of the landscape on all of the structures. For me, it was the timing and what I felt when I was there. The day was a normal rather warm and humid day in Central Thailand. The drive there was over 200 miles from Bangkok, but it was worth it.
templw-pith.a76ef047d8d24c03823acdf41c4ee7c8.jpg
There is also a wonderful little museum on the Temple grounds which shares the customs and tradition of the people in the area going back hundreds of years. It has received Government distinction for it's holdings and significance.
statuemonk.a76ef047d8d24c03823acdf41c4ee7c8.jpg
My first time seeing the almost 30ft tall Buddha brought a sense of quiet and going within to my heart. It was a special time in a special place.
statuemonk-1.a76ef047d8d24c03823acdf41c4ee7c8.jpg
Many of us I am sure have visited a place and it remains dear to their heart, Wat Pha Si Rattana Mahathat is that way with me. There are small village markets and places to dine for your travel. I hope you have a chance to visit our beautiful country one day and if you are in Central Thailand maybe this may become special for you as well.

Thank you for reading.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

Congratulations @julee! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍

Feedback

We have 2 tips for you on how you can improve your post to receive more smiles for your future posts. To view the feedback, head to your TravelFeed Dashboard. Next to your post you will find a smiley, a click on it reveals the detailed feedback.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@elsaenroute (TravelFeed team)

PS: Why not share your blog posts to your family and friends with the convenient sharing buttons on TravelFeed.io?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55