Part 2: Cebu to Manila Flight Experience, The Pandemic Edition

in TravelFeed3 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience

This is the third part of my Manila-Cebu-Manila plane travel experience during this pandemic. If you haven't read the first and second part yet please do so for context, click here and here.

If you already read both then let's continue.



♦ Waiting and Then Boarding The Plane

After I got my new tickets/documents and my two bags secured with the airline personnel, we proceeded to find our designated gates/waiting areas. Before that, of course we gave a tip to our ever patient porter.

When we found the signage for the gates we realized my co-trainee and I would be staying at opposite sides. And so we bid our goodbyes and went our separate way.

This was where my boarding gate was.

image.png
Airport waiting area.

As you can see in the picture, it's totally different from Cebu Pacific/NAIA. The seats only had signs to not sit beside each other but that doesn't prevent people from sitting side by side. I noticed a few people didn't follow the social distancing protocol. Sad huh?

Anyway I found a seat and placed my bag on the vacant one on my right. At least one side of me would be at the right distance from other people if ever somebody decided to not follow protocol. Somehow I felt uncomfortable while waiting. By the time I was settled in it was already past 10 am. Whoa.

Past 11 am I thought of eating lunch after posting some of my travel pictures online. (Thanks free airport WiFi!) This time I could roam around freely because I only had my handcarry bag with me, unlike when I came from Manila.

On my side I didn't find any food I wanted to eat so I decided to cross over to the other area where my co-trainee went. While checking on the fast food shops I kept my eyes peeled for any sign of her. And then I found a Japanese restaurant that had some ramen and such. Oh my kind of food. Surprisingly I saw her sitting at one of the tables. 😆

Of course I went to her table first for a quick hello and chat. She was already eating so I just left my bag on the other side of the table before going to order mine. And yes there were signs and reminders for everyone to do social distancing even at the dining areas. Good job huh?

My co-trainee left earlier since her schedule was only a little past noon. After I was done eating I went back to my side of the waiting area. When boarding time came I saw something I've never seen before. There was a weighing scale just past the gate to the boarding platform! Heck, people who had two or more bags with them were asked to weigh their bags before being allowed to enter. Whoa! Seriously? 😂

Good thing I already paid the fee or else I would have done the same thing and pay for it there. 😂 What an experience it was. Oh but wait 'til I get inside the plane. Haha.

image.png
Social distancing markers on the boarding platform.

We went through some kind of hallway/bridge or boarding area. You can see more of it in this picture collage below. If you see the PAL plane (bottom right, where my co-trainee probably was) you'd know what it looks like outside.

image.png

Inside the airplane I felt like it was not as spacious as Cebu Pacific but that's not important really. As long as the safety protocols are followed then I'm good with it.



♦ The Flight Back to Manila

As soon as I was able to sit comfortably inside, I asked my co-trainee if there was also a weighing scale before they boarded the plane. She told me there was none. Huh. Confirmed! 😂

As usual there was the air steam and then the stewardesses did the safety instructions first and then the plane went up, up and away. The sad part of the story is, it seemed like the airline didn't bother with social distancing on this flight. There were people side by side on each row. What the heck, someone was sitting beside me! Good thing I had the aisle seat otherwise I'd be sandwiched by two people.

Yes I know we were all wearing face masks and shields but I still felt unsafe.

image.png

Anyway, can't do anything about airline policies.

The plane also has it's own restroom near the back area. I think that's the norm on all airplanes so I decided to use one for the first time! I didn't have a very pleasant experience but it was good enough to serve it's purpose.

And look, they also have emergency info pinned at the back of each seat. 👍 The best part of it is, it has Filipino instructions! Good job Air Asia! 👏 All local airlines should have this kind of safety manual.

image.png

There's also WiFi available but it wasn't free. And here's the kicker... while in flight, the stewardesses suddenly had a cart filled with mementos and snacks for everyone to choose from. 😱 No it's not free, they were for sale! (I think it was announced before we were air bound, or not.)

Goodness gracious. I've never been on a plane where it was like a movie theater before the show started and someone was hawking food and other stuff. Oh no, I will never ride with Air Asia ever again. Sorry this has become quite an honest review of this particular airline.

Did you know Air Asia doesn't even have human customer service agents? WTF?! They have bots who can't help with complex issues. GTFO. I thought Cebu Pacific was worse due to the flight change issue I experienced, then I find out Air Asia is probably the worst!

A friend advised me to go with PAL instead the next time I will travel by plane. For sure I will definitely do that to see if it's better than both. (Despite their filing of bankruptcy recently.) Pffft.



♦ Finally We Landed In Manila

Do you know what's the most astonishing thought I had the day the plane landed in Manila? I Did Not Miss NCR At All. 😂 Wow. 😆

image.png

Since I still live within NCR I don't mind that I've been living here for more than a decade now. Unlike during my teenage years, I actually feel quite the opposite now. Haha.

So anyway, we got out of the plane and followed the stream of people towards the baggage claim area. Unfortunately I didn't take any pictures there. It was still quite enjoyable to watch the bags come out one by one. Each one was moving along the machine path (carousel) while most of us waited for and picked up our bags. Hehe.

Upon getting my stuff I proceeded to the restrooms. Also I don't think I was able to scan the QR code again. 🤔 Afterwards I went to the waiting area in terminal three where my sundo (someone who will pick a person up from a certain location) would pick me up.

image.png
Hello NAIA Terminal 3

My former officemate became my transport service. 😀 He offered to because he would get his dried seafood order and our home was on the way to somewhere he was going. Lucky me I saved fare money again! Thank you Jesus. Haha.

And so that ends my story of traveling by plane in the midst of a pandemic. How about you? Have you also traveled by plane recently? Hope your experience was better than mine if you did. 😆

XOXO,
@artgirl



Spam or irrelevant comments will be downvoted if not revised upon warning.


fzo8b444e7.jpg

Written by @artgirl for Steemit / Hive
© Art x Stephanie Rue / Lucy Stephanie


Join Hive thru ecency, Click Here!

@artgirl is a freelance writer/artist, online seller and real estate agent. My Steemit/Hive posts may contain referral/affiliate/merchandise links.
Contact me for your art, Writing/Research & Metro Manila (NCR) property needs.

For business inquiries, you can chat me up on Telegram or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.


Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem/Share for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

I'm back! Pero tinatamad ako magbasa 😝

Asus haha nilagay mo rin pic m sa wakas. No choice ka kasi wla ka na access s isa haha. Mas maganda sa Hive. Olats na dito.

Congratulations @artgirl! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49