sfl-contest : Share your travel experience|Umbra Forest.

in Steem For Lifestylelast month

Dear members of Steem For Lifestyle,


I am thrilled to participate in my first contest in this wonderful community. A heartfelt thank you to for inviting me.


I’ve been in Gargano for 10 days, a fascinating region in Puglia. Today, I want to share my experience in the Umbra Forest, a beautiful area located in the Gargano National Park, also recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage site.





We woke up early for a special excursion. We were greeted by Aurora, a young naturalist guide who left her city job to dedicate herself to her true passion: nature.


.


.





Aurora guided us with her jeep through the southern part of the forest, near Peschici, characterized by drier and less dense vegetation compared to the north. This area is influenced by the hot winds from Africa, creating an arid environment, different from the thick vegetation in the northern part.





image source


With great enthusiasm and knowledge, she then told us about and described the northern part of the forest, characterized by dense, humid vegetation influenced by moisture-laden northwesterly winds. Here, the umbrella effect created by the tree canopies makes the environment shady, with vegetation so dense that in some spots, it almost feels like night even during the day.


IMG_1932.jpg


The Umbra Forest is a true sanctuary of biodiversity, hosting over 2,000 plant species. Among the most emblematic plants is the beech tree, which here grows at an unusually low altitude for its species, around 230 meters above sea level. This phenomenon is one of the reasons why the Umbra Forest has been included as a UNESCO World Heritage site.


IMG_1960 2.jpg

IMG_1965.jpg

During our walk, we noticed the giant ivy climbing the trees, weighing them down until they fall—a perfect example of the natural cycle that allows the forest to regenerate without human intervention. Aurora also showed us some fungi attached to the trees, a clear sign that the tree is dying naturally but at the same time contributing to soil regeneration.



IMG_2009.jpg

IMG_2016.jpg

Aurora showed us some majestic oaks, typical of this area. She also taught us an interesting method for estimating the age of trees without having to cut them down. This calculation was also used to give a commercial value before felling the tree. To do this, we stand with our back against the tree and take one normal step forward, then count the steps as we walk around the trunk to measure the tree's circumference. Each step corresponds to one meter of circumference. Once the circumference is obtained, e.g., 15 meters for this oak, we multiply by 2.5 and then by 10 to get an approximate age of the oak. The factor 2.5 is the growth factor of the tree, in this case, specific to this particular oak. Each species has its own. This method allows us to get an approximate estimate of the tree's age.



IMG_2059.jpg

The fauna of the Umbra Forest is equally fascinating. This place is home to rare and protected species, such as the Gargano roe deer, a subspecies of roe deer that lives exclusively in this area and is protected by the WWF. Among other animals inhabiting the forest, we can find badgers, foxes, wild cats, and a wide variety of birds, including the great spotted woodpecker, Bonelli's eagle, and several nocturnal raptors.


Aurora passionately described the contrast between the northern and southern parts of Gargano. While the Umbra Forest in the north is dominated by a dense canopy of trees and a humid microclimate, in the south, you can feel the influence of the hot African winds, creating a drier and less lush environment. This contrast makes Gargano a unique place, with a variety of natural environments coexisting in a relatively small area.




I invite you to visit my blog to discover the wonders of Gargano, where I have posted my daily experiences. Don’t miss the opportunity to explore the Umbra Forest, a place where nature reigns supreme and reminds us of the importance of preserving our environment.


thanks to read @ibesso

the images were taken by me


I invite: @wakeupkitt @xiao-aine @impersonal


Source:
oai_citation:1,Discovering Gargano: the Umbra Forest | Visititaly.eu oai_citation:2,Gargano Foresta Umbra | Village Stella del Sud.

Sort:  

Aaaah, driving with jeeps while standing on the roof, cool! 😎 Is it too far for a walk?

I love the photos although some are too small on my phone to see all the details.
The 'image search picture' is great as well. Did you see it?

I will remember the way how to measure a tree although I doubt it works over here. Strangely enough, some look after 5 years still as if they are just planted while the other ones planted elsewhere grew 2 meters (there's something odd in the soil).

How about the donkey?
💞🤗

 last month 

Thank you, I’m glad you liked the photos! Unfortunately, the northern part wasn’t included in the tour, and I was disappointed because it was too far from where we were. The donkey is the mascot of the tour organizer, who treated us to lunch at the end of the trip. P.S. The network is terrible today; it only works on the beach, and there’s nothing in town. I’m not sure how I’ll manage this evening 🥹♥️

You can send me photo 2, the umbrellas, and the second last, pleaaaase. Thank you, I promise not to use them and say they are mine.
Next time you can visit the North and ride the donkey or so.
I'm sorry about your connection but what can I say? Welcome in my world ...
You survived and who knows it even made you relax now you had no other opportunity than to pack your bag, go to bed, or stay on the beach (which you didn't).

I hope you had a safe drive, continue you the vacation feeling. 🥹 <= if you send that one I melt... ♥️

 last month 

I'll send them to you, and you can use them as you wish because I know you'll make good use of them. You know we're in sync. On my way back, I stopped in the northern part of the forest to take some photos, and soon I'll write a piece about it. Unfortunately, I love donkeys, but I'm allergic to their fur, so I photographed the Podolic cows instead. Yes, the poor connection where I was staying is a shame, but I'd rather not comment on that. Italy has a lot to do if it wants to live up to what it promotes.

I’ve set off, but I don’t know when I’ll arrive. On the bright side, I gathered a lot of material to publish, although I’m not sure when I’ll find the time to do it. Don’t worry, I’m now a third-lane traveler; I like to enjoy the scenery, even if sometimes people honk from behind 😅. But if needed, I know how to "feed the horse"—an Italian expression meaning I can go faster than the person honking at me. I'll know how to make you melt with the photos of the forest 🤗. Do the right thing 😏.

Oh, for a moment I thought you ate the donkey! Cows are cute too, although the risk being killed by one is higher than winning the lottery.

There are plenty of photocontests you can join if you lack time to write words. 😍

I am happy you changed into a tourist there's no need to speed. Step on the brake, wave and smile if they give you the middle finger, that's what I do.

A safe journey, you can sleep later, have your breaks, walk a bit and enjoy the sunset.

Can you see the moon?

🤗♥️

 29 days ago 

My eyes are like Wile E. Coyote's. I’ll have to close them, otherwise tomorrow I won’t be able to see the way back. I’d rather get away with a nice “Beep Beep” than explode in the tunnel.🤣 On the bright side, I managed to take a picture of the moon; I think she was more photogenic this time, but she only gave me that privilege for two shots, and then no more. Have you ever tried photographing her? She usually doesn’t like it, says she doesn’t look good, but this time she allowed herself to be captured, even if just for a moment. I think we managed to seduce her. I’ll write a post on Freewriter dedicated to her.

♥️🌙

Yes I tried but it's hard with a phone. It's light outside but there are clouds and I hear thunder. I doubt it will rain.

I didn't sleep. You close your eyes.. Meep meep is a mean bird, I adore the genius who won't give up, no matter what.

I guess she feels fat but she should be used to you and your travels. Besides she's in your eyes.

I look forward to your next pist. Take your time and relax.

🌕


We support quality posts and good comments Published in any community and any tag.
Curated by : @edgargonzalez

Steemcurator06

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last month 

Thank you for sharing the beautiful flora and fauna of Umbra Forest.so vividly and explicitly. I'm really hounded by you invitation. Wish you explore more beautiful places of the world.

 last month 

Thank you so much! I'm glad the Umbra Forest resonated with you. I hope to share more of the world's beauty!

This was great...thanks for sharing!

 last month 

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it.👋

Loading...

Are you sniffing fresh air overthere? How does the African wind feel? Enjoy your staying!

So you got a forest and pizza on the Unesca list :)) Ithought you invited me to the Umbra for a pizza but it's travelling. My only journey is work and my room.

 last month 

Yes, the fresh air here is invigorating! The African wind is warm and full of life. Thanks for the well wishes! Haha, a forest and a pizza on the UNESCO list sound perfect! I hope you find a little escape even in your busy days!

Can it be helpful?

A27E8262-B12B-4E81-930E-92B1A0DE7EC0.webp


We support quality posts and good comments Published in any community and any tag.
Curated by : @edgargonzalez

Steemcurator06

 last month 

Thank you so much!🌈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57658.56
ETH 2273.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46